We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apache Trout Grill

Apache Trout Grill
13671 S West Bay Shore Dr, Traverse City, MI 49684-6200
231-947-7079
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Sandusky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

fantastic waiting area outside by the waterfront while you are waiting for your table. Server takes drink orders while you are enjoying a very relaxing area. the time passes quickly and the food is worth waiting for. great fresh Alaskan Salmon was delicious and done to perfection. complements to the chef.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    158
    55
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We visit The Apache Trout Grill every time we get to Traverse City. We have had excellent food and service every time. The lobster bisque is the best! I've had several different meals of steak or seafood and have not been disappointed. It is a must stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Been coming to TC and the Apache Trout Grill for 15 years and will keep coming as long as I'm on this side of the grass.
Always excellent tasting fish, good service and the best water view in town.
Don't miss this superior restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

After a 1 1/2 hour wait (they don't take reservations) over expensive drinks we had overcooked, overpriced fish (walleye and perch) with uninteresting accompaniments. Service was good outside for drinks not so much inside where our waitress clearly had too many tables to serve. We won't be going back.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly didn't have to wait as long as I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

When we got there on a Saturday evening we were told that we would have an hour and a half to hour and forty-five minute wait. We waited outside with a beautiful view of the bay. We were seated in under 45 minutes which, actually, was quite disappointing as we enjoyed drinking our cocktails outside in the tiki bar.

I had the classic apache whitefish and it was very tasty. I loved the amaretto cherry sauce which went so well with the pecan crust. The portion was very large. My wife had the whitefish special that evening and enjoyed her meal as well. We topped off the meal with a delicious key lime pie. The Apache Trout Grill was recommended to us and I'm glad we followed the suggestion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apache Trout Grill also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Apache Trout Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apache Trout Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.