We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "Bum Steer"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mode's Bum Steer

Mode's Bum Steer
125 E State St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2512
231-947-9832
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Traverse City MI
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not a "Bum Steer"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A great steak house, a great wait staff and friendly customers.
Try the prime rib, a large cut and the most tender I have had in many a year!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    18
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sort of a hole in the wall to me, but it is fabulous no frill great food and drinks. The staff is above and beyond.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“1980's Gangster Retro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you're looking for something straight out of "The Godfather" with good service and good food, this is your restaurant. It's not flashy or trendy, but if you know that you are in for a period piece, you'll enjoy.
It's even more kitsch in the basement for private parties. Wow. Think 1973 basement rec room/bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the female servers should seriosly think about a career change..!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been visiting the Traverse Bay area for the past 35yrs and it goes without saying we enjoyed our getaways there. We found the Bum Steer about 15 yrs ago and have enjoyed many outings with our friends there. We usually were greeted by a very nice server (no names) but she had blondish hair and a slim build and has been there many years…she was excellent and always made you feel welcome and is a great asset to this pub/grille restaurant . On the other hand, the past couple of visits we didn’t have her and instead we were greeted by female server , (not so slim build) , but made us feel like we were interrupting her day. It was on our last visit in May of 2013 we felt we were not treated like we have always been treated and yes we this server again, ( not so slim one) with a huge attitude problem. Keep in mind we have had many good times with very good results and great food, however when a member of the staff talks down to you , you just know what you’re up against each time if you go back and not get the sever you are used to (the good server). I simply mention I noticed a discrepancy on the menu . It was only $1.00 …completely non-significant …I am talking pure principle. One part of the menu read, you can have your order blackened of regular no additional charge. However she insisted I was wrong even after we pointed it out, she started making up things , such as …oh, that with other orders and so on. However we ordered the same order before many, many times and was never charged any additional fee. She didn’t like the fact we had brought it to her attention and from that moment on were treated very poorly and our orders were not the same as in our many other visits. In closing in defence of the restaurant… the food was always great before this incident ….but when you come up against a staff member with an attitude like she had ..spoils even the best of food and any good times you wanted to have. We are a senior couple and have always tipped well for good service we received. Whether she was having personal problems or what have you, it should never be passed on to the customers. We are business owners as well and deal one on one with the public everyday , and that’s why we say she should seriously consider a career change. She is hurting a business which is known for good food, but it goes without saying good food won’t last without good and friendly service with it. I hope the owner/s reads this review and possibly in the future watch or be aware any other complaints concerning this server.
Note : I rated it terrible service, but it was meant for this one server only.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plenty of food!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to this restaurant over the Columbus weekend, and didn't have reservations. We were lucky to get in. The food is good, but not great. The place was jammed, and we had trouble getting a drink and the waitress kept bumping our table.

But the food was pretty good. They serve Texas toast with the meals, and it is really a restaurant from the 70s! I would go again, but it wouldn't be my number #1 choice

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mode's Bum Steer also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Mode's Bum Steer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mode's Bum Steer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.