We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's

Bubba's
428 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2614
231-995-0570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We came here at 7pm on a Saturday night and only had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. Once we sat they did ask if we minded if they sat another table at the same table, but we were sitting at a 6-seater so it was fine and not awkward at all.
The food was delicison - I had the haystack burger, partner had a fish sandwich and we shared fries and onion rings....it was a lot of food (too much?) and all incredibly delicious. I'd also recommend the margaritas!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, Owner at Bubba's, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience.

May the road rise to greet you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    126
    33
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Starving, visited a brew pub near TC and had a beer sampler and waffle sandwich. While the beer was good we were still hungry, so drove into town looking for more. Just happened to walk past Bubba's and decided to drop in, even tho we would normally skip a place called Bubba's - you, too, no?

Here's the thing.. Hubby and I shared a Haystack burger, and I'll say for the record that it was by far, bar none, the best burger either of us have EVER had. Fries were also great and beer was cold and good though no stouts or porters on tap for hubby. You must go there now! Save us a seat at the bar! Five stars to Bubba's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“"Go To" Spot on Front St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

You can count on this friendly place for an inexpensive, thoughtfully prepared meal with lots of drink choices and desserts to tempt your diet. I have found many healthy choices on the varied menu. This is a good place to hang out if you hate shopping as it is a short walk. It is a short walk from the Holiday Inn too. There is a line sometimes, but the wait staff care and you don't feel like a school kid waiting for your turn at the drinking fountain. (Unlike the snobs across the street at the glorified taco Stand, Georgina's.) we have eaten all three meals here during the Cherry Festival Madness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND RAPIDS
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very busy, somewhat chaotic, pricey, very good bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This place was very busy when I went for dinner. Staff was doing a very poor job of even staffing the host/hostess podium. Took about 10 minutes to even get someone to put us on a wait list. Placed seemed chaotic and loud and you may get seated next to strangers; there's a sign asking you to speak up if this would bother you. Lot's of families with kids, though I wouldn't bring kids here.

My friends both ordered burgers $9, asked for no tomato, both got tomato. We seemed to have a waitress and a different person refilling drinks. Both were friendly and attentive despite how busy it was, though they were both very hurried.

I ordered Fish and Chips $13.95. For a restaurant that was loud, busy and had very little ambiance or character I thought this was a bit high for fish and chips. They were served as fish fingers and not fillets. Nothing special about the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Early Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place was awesome while visiting Traverse City. At 3:30 in the afternoon, we were gonna go to 'The Little Fleet' but only one of the food trucks were running at the time. Walking back to our car we came across Bubba's. It looked like a friendly bar atmosphere and there were lots of people (both good signs). My boyfriend ordered a coke, but the waitress informed us they only have local pops/sodas, but the coke equivalent pop turned out to actually be quite yummy. I ordered the BLT, and he ordered a plain cheeseburger. My BLT was awesome. The toast was perfect, and the bacon was so good! not too tough like many restaurants end up doing. The cheeseburger was huge, and my boyfriend really seemed to like it. Make sure you order the fries with your meal as they are very good as well with a bit of pepper I think? I think we walked in during happy hour or something because when we got our bill it was only $14 and some cents. We were both full and satisfied, something you wouldn't expect at a sit down restaurant for that amount of money.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Bubba's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.