We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Happy hour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Fly

Fire Fly
310 Cass Street, Traverse City, MI 49684-5707
(231) 932-1310
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place has good prices all the time but can't beat them for happy hour or Tuesday sushi. Nice to sit outdoors in the summer. Service always seems friendly

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    56
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk. Scotland.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Firefly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were recomended Firefly by the owners of our hotel. Its a 5 mimute walk from the main street (front st) We got a table outside overlooking the river. This is a very popular restaurant and a i would advise booking in advance.

We eat there twice during our stay, and enjoyed the meal on both occasions
Good food reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not bad, based on limited experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was in from out of town, looking for a Thai restaurant, and this came up on Google Maps. There were one or two Thai dishes on the small plates menu, but that's a Google problem, not Firefly. Wound up with a pretty good 1/2 lb gorgonzola burger, cooked per request. No rush to go back, though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our first visit and we had read other reviews on this website, a few which were not so positive. We had a very positive experience. First, it was October, Thursday, and Happy Hour. The small plates were 1/3 off and martinis were 1/2 off. By about 6PM, it was buzzing and a lot of the patrons were locals - so that speaks volumes. Negative comments on the website mention price and portion size. We ordered 5 small plates, and all were properly portioned and priced and very good. The two of us got plenty to eat. We tried four different martinis and they were OK, but not great. The drinks are competitive with other bars, just not great (we are drink snobs). That said, they have many other drinks and a great beer selection, so you can find something. Decor was modern and fresh and waiter was friendly. Our bill for all of the above was $69, which we find very competitive (granted, it would more w/o the specials). PF Chang has a similar Happy Hour concept, but Firefly has larger portions and better food, in our opinion. If price is a big concern, check their website for specials. All in all, a very nice experience and we will return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great small dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lo ve this restaurant still. Great variety on a reasonable priced menu and the location on a summer evening is superb

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Fly also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Fire Fly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Fly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.