We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A yummy gem in Traverse City!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fu Hua China One

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fu Hua China One
742 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3525
(231) 933-4858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 261 Restaurants in Traverse City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Romeo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A yummy gem in Traverse City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was very happy to run into Fu Hua while visiting the grocery store next door. Helped me decide what was for dinner! So, very convenient location for travelers to the Cherry Capital.
Friendly staff. It's kind of cool to see them start cooking your food while you wait for take-out. The kitchen is right in front of you.
Get ready to get filled up! Large portions. I picked up some General Tso's chicken & some egg rolls to share with two other family members. There was plenty to go around. It was a good dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Large portions and very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Picked up one combo plate - beef and vegetables which we shared as portions are general generous. Egg roll was excellent. Beef and vegetables were great with fresh carrots, onions, baby corn, broccoli - all excellent. The fried rice was also excellent and had chicken in it. One combo had plenty of food for the 2 of us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in Northern Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is basically a take out place, although they have 4 tables. I would not hesitate to dine in. We got 3 takeouts-chicken peapod, beef with vegetables and roast pork lomein. All were delicious. We took it to the State park beach and watched the beautiful scenery with a fly by of the Blue Angels. I don't have high expectation when up north, but this is surely authentic as the family is from Hong Kong. Nice chat while waiting for our food. Will be back. Nice menu selection also. Did not get soup or egg rolls, so I can not speak to that. Each lunch entrees came with chicken fried rice and was very filling and reasonably priced. Gives me reason to be back to Traverse City. By the way it is located in the Dunham's shopping center.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not really anything special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Got some Almond Chicken to go. Too much breading and chicken was overcooked. On a bed of vegetables with the rice. Gravy was under all. I would have liked the gravy in a separate container since this was a to go order. Don't like soggy chicken. Very bland food. Hubby got Szechuan beef. Looked and tasted like pork. Sauce not good either. Would not go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Range, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chinese Take Out While Camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

It was an average Chinese Restaurant in a tourist town. The takeout was fairly inexpensive, large portions, and flavorful. I think we ordered lo-mein & sesame chicken.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fu Hua China One also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Fu Hua China One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fu Hua China One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.