We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Restaurant

Boathouse Restaurant
14039 Peninsula Drive, Traverse City, MI 49686
231-223-4030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: French Fusion cuisine nesteled on beautiful Bowers Harbor, Deck Seating available in season, Romantic location for a proposal, also available for small/medium sized weddings, come to relax and enjoy the Taste of the Big City in Traverse City. Featuring Kobe Beef, English Dover Sole and the freshest most eclectic cuisine. Come as you are, upscale dining in a resort style casual atmosphere.
phoenix,az.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

good location and good food. slightly pricey. appeared disorganized . great view on bay with good boat access.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    95
    48
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the best views of West Bay, but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This restaurant exudes an upscale cottage-décor fine dining experience. The food is good but rather small portions for the not so small prices. When Chef Eric was at the Boathouse, the quality and unique dining experience made the prices worth paying. If you want to enjoy a exquisite meal in a serene location, the Boathouse is the place. Be prepared to stop at a fast food restaurant after you leave so that you leave your dining experience hungry!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery but overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The scenery is beautiful and the restaurant has a very warm, "cottage" feel. Unfortunately, this was the best part of our experience(s). The food was good, but small portions and very over priced. This was our 4th time at this restaurant, and I have to say it used to be better years ago. We were also very disappointed with the manager and how he dealt with an issue with our bill. We had a party of 10 and none of us plan to go back due to the high prices and rude manager.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were at Boathouse in a party of 15 people. They have great options on drinks and wine. Appetizers were great! Food was delicious and very well served. After dinner we went outside to see the sunset over Lake Michigan, that was gorgeous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We came in for lunch on wet, windy day so sitting outside wasn't an option. We were given a table right by the window, so we still had a great view.

We started off with a couple of their specialty cocktails that were very good.

My wife and I had their soup of the day which was cream of asparagus. It was delicious, and topped with pine nuts, crème fraiche, and some truffle oil. Definitely hit the spot on a cold day.

For our entrees, my wife had Beef Wellington and I had the Alaskan fish and chips. My lunch was a piece of halibut and a piece of sockeye salmon. I have had halibut as part of a fish and chips order in the past, but the addition of a deep-fried piece of salmon really pushed the dish over the top. It was great! The fish was hot and the batter was very crisp, just the way it should be served. The French Fries were also very hot and fresh.

My wife enjoyed her beef. It was cooked perfectly.

The service was top notch and we definitely felt taken care of.

Boathouse was recommended to me by one of my co-workers who is from the area originally. Glad we took advantage of the opportunity to stop by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.