We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for summer dining on the deck.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boone's Long Lake Inn

Boone's Long Lake Inn
7208 Secor Rd, Traverse City, MI 49685-9020
231-946-3991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 227 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Elkhart, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The perfect place for summer dining on the deck.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful evening out on their "Big Deck", which is behind the restaurant building and nestled in the trees. The menu options were varied, but we both had the highly recommended prime rib. We had it in a conmination, one with shrimp the other with perch. All of it was excellent. Large portions. Service was prompt and came by often. This was our first visit, but I know we'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    71
    44
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had heard rave reviews about this restaurant.
The décor and carpet looked tired.
Hubby and I both ordered the 10 ounce strip steak with salad and baked potato.

The salad was a very plain iceberg lettuce with some some cherry tomatoes and very salty croutons. More like the 1960's.
The steak arrived sizzling hot which is great. My first bite contained a lot of gristle. After chewing a few more non-gristly bites, I was unhappy with this tough steak. The waitress asked if everything was okay. I was honest and told her it was pretty tough. She went on to lecture me about how a strip steak is chewier and that is why it has more flavor and talked down to me like I was a kid. Well, I am a butcher's daughter and I do know my cuts of meat. She never offered to bring another steak. She just took off. I tried my husbands steak and it was good. The waitress actually never came back to refill our coffee or anything. She appeared again next when she brought the check.

So I must say It was a disappointment and the waitress was rude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good to be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I live for the day we get into the car to spend a week up in the Leelanau Peninsula. That means that once again Boone's will be the first dinner we have. It was so wonderful to be back at this famous eatery where "power eating" reigns supreme.

I had the snow crab dinner. A heaping mound of the biggest, sweetest snow crab you will ever have outside of Seattle. Accompanied by a salad with the best Ranch dressing and perfectly cooked fries. My sister-in-law had the same and my brother had the snow crab and strip loin combo. It really does not come any better!!!!

If you love a good extra dry martini, Boone's serves up one of the best I have ever had. Please give Boone's Long Lake Inn a visit and you will count the days until you can return. We are going back again tomorrow evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A must visit when Traverse City. Really everything is good. Try the beef and noodle soup if you visit, truly an original dish which is delicious. Prime rib and steaks outstanding , but don't miss the fish specials as well. Busy but they get through, really well run service wise. Staff friendly and prompt. The Big Deck out back is paradise

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It a little drive outside of town but worth it! We have been there several times. Steaks are very good. The times we have been there it was very busy. The service was good. We will eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone's Long Lake Inn also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Boone's Long Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone's Long Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.