We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission

Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission
13512 Peninsula Dr, Traverse City, MI 49686-9717 (Formerly the Bowery)
231-223-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 252 restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was very nice atmosphere. Food was good. Beers were interesting. Long wait to be seated and seating was tight. Not alot of room to move around when waiting either.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    138
    103
    34
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in Traverse City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here after visiting a few winery's and boy was it delicious. They chips and amber ale mayo they serve everyone was so delicious. Pulled pork nachos were great. The pork was a little spicy and the salsa served with it had a tiny bit of sweetness to it which made it perfect. I will go there again on my next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I consistently feel underwhelmed by my visits to Jolly Pumpkin. Maybe its because of my fond memories of what is used to be when it was the Bowery. Although some of the food can be good at times, the food quality and service is very inconsistent. I have been blown away by how good the ribs were at least once...but subsequent orders have bordered on inedible with the ribs being very tough and chewy. The service is usually very poor as the staff seems overwhelmed at busier times. Location and ambience are great...but the rest is lacking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My girlfriends an I have been here twice in 2 years on winery trips. Both times were very good. The menu consists of unique bar food and some dependable standards. Ron was our waiter both times as well, he was both entertaining and attentive!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jolly Pumpkin traverse City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are fans! Had fun in Ann Arbor, loved the Dexter brewery, and now discovered the Mission Peninsula site. Enjoyed the place and service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.