We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food for a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleder's Family Tavern

Sleder's Family Tavern
717 Randolph St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2142
231-947-9213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Grand Rapids Mi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always good food for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of our favorites for a burger or a great burrito. Relaxed atmosphere. Although Sleders is a bar, it is a family restaurant too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    57
    24
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Charming and Cool Bar/Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

When reading about this place on-line before visiting we learned that it's customary to kiss the stuffed moose when visiting Sleder's. We also learned that this is the oldest continuously operating bar/restaurant in TC and well worth a visit. We stopped in for a late lunch on a recent Thursday and the place was not crowded at all. We were greeted by our charmingly crotchety female bartender, who turned out to be quite the character. We had the Sleder's Burger, which I would highly recommend. Half pound, cooked to perfection, incredible french fries. They have a number of beers on tap and offer a great selection of drinks mixing spirits or beers with hard ciders. We tried several and they were all delicious. I've always been a fan of a good snakebite (lager and hard cider) and this took that combo to a whole new level. And yes, we both kissed the Moose on the way out and took our pictures doing so. The bartender rings a loud bell anytime someone does it, as she said, just to embarrass the heck out of people. You have to stand on a step ladder to reach the moose too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Whata place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This lodge like bar and grill is a great place to hang out with the fam and have a beer. The decor in this joint is rad and has so much history and suprises.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

It must have been an off night for the cook. We had a waitress in training who really did a nice job and will be good on her own. My margarita wash great and the bar tender/ trainer brought over the extra that would not fit in my glass. Being with another couple, 3 meals came out together but the cook did not realize my fish was to be baked not fried. So I had to wait. As a comp for that my margarita was taken off the bill, which was thoughtful. The cod was so-so baked, I would not order it again. They do have great fries. The woman's bathroom needs to be checked more often to be sure it is clean. Those that ordered steak and shrimp were happy with their meals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“LOVE THE BURGERS - see the Moose or KISS the Moose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The menu has a wide variety of choices, including a buffalo burger, endless fish plate if you come on the right day. Rueben is one of the best around. Ice Cold Beer. One of the attractions is to KISS the Moose. Service is good to very good and food does come out hot - even on a busy night. Plenty of free parking, seating at the bar or at tables/booths. Nice place to check out, and one you will remember. Have FUN here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleder's Family Tavern also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Sleder's Family Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleder's Family Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.