We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleder's Family Tavern

Sleder's Family Tavern
717 Randolph St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2142
231-947-9213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

It must have been an off night for the cook. We had a waitress in training who really did a nice job and will be good on her own. My margarita wash great and the bar tender/ trainer brought over the extra that would not fit in my glass. Being with another couple, 3 meals came out together but the cook did not realize my fish was to be baked not fried. So I had to wait. As a comp for that my margarita was taken off the bill, which was thoughtful. The cod was so-so baked, I would not order it again. They do have great fries. The woman's bathroom needs to be checked more often to be sure it is clean. Those that ordered steak and shrimp were happy with their meals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    57
    24
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“LOVE THE BURGERS - see the Moose or KISS the Moose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The menu has a wide variety of choices, including a buffalo burger, endless fish plate if you come on the right day. Rueben is one of the best around. Ice Cold Beer. One of the attractions is to KISS the Moose. Service is good to very good and food does come out hot - even on a busy night. Plenty of free parking, seating at the bar or at tables/booths. Nice place to check out, and one you will remember. Have FUN here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Really Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Maybe there are better burgers somewhere else in town and a fuller selection of beers, but it didn't matter. The tavern was great. It was my wife's first trip there and she absolutely loved everything about it and, yes, she kissed Randolph the moose. We just did burgers, onion rings and beer, but, in spite of being excellent, it was really the tavern, the staff and the other customers that delighted us. The place is old and as warm and comfortable as an old sweater. There seem to be a lot of regulars and they, as well as nearly everyone else, came in as if they were happy to be there, nodded or smiled hello and got happier as they stayed. Plenty of room between tables so, even with all the laughter and chatter, it was easy to have a conversation with others at the table. History buffs will enjoy reading about the place on the Sleder's website so that they can pick out little things like the room that used to be reserved for women before they were allowed to join the men in the main area of the bar. Sleder's is an absolutely delightful place and we'll be back often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We really enjoyed dinner (we both had different fish dishes). The service was outstanding. My wife loves cider and they offer it in draft. The pub had much charm and the clientele seemed to be local folks meeting for some food and conversation. Very nice!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very cool old place, good burgers, great fries and cold beers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Believe the hype. The food is good and the locally brewed beers are tasty. The decor is old school cool and watching the tourists kiss the moose is a hoot!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleder's Family Tavern also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Sleder's Family Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleder's Family Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.