We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleder's Family Tavern

Sleder's Family Tavern
717 Randolph St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2142
231-947-9213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have been here before and was happy to return for another good burger. The place has atmosphere and is fun to visit. Watching people kiss the moose is good entertainment. My burger was awesome though our friends were a little disappointed that their's were over done. One asked for rare and the other medium well. They both were way over done. Some attention needs to be paid to making them the way the customer orders them. The fries were awesome and I most definitely would return if I was in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    57
    24
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Like an old friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want the best burger in TC, cold beer, and your only chance in life to kiss a moose, go no further. This bar and restaurant has been a local icon for over100 years, and as the saying goes if it ain't broke don't fix it. Is it perfect-no is it a great bang for the buck with interesting decor-yes. The 1/2 lb. Sleder burger is the go to favorite however you have to make sure that they really understand that you want the hamburger done the way you ask for it. The home made fries are fantastic and the salads are very big. Two people can easily share a burger and a salad and still have a take home box.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting old bar, but food was poor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been there a number of times over the years. It is one of or the oldest bar in Traverse City and a visit is a trip back in time. Walls covered with stuffed animals and at the back of the bar is a large moose head that my friends smooched and was fun for all. I was not all that excited with the food. I ordered a Hamburg medium rare. I came super well done, no moisture left in the meat, tasteless and was like shredded wheat between a bun. The fries were not hot and fresh from the fryer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Have to smooch the moose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd trip back. A visit to TC isn't complete without smooching the moose. We ordered a burger with homemade fries, chicken basket, club sandwich (which was enormous), house salad, and a Reuben. Everything was delicious. Service was excellent. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Solid lunch spot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I took a customer and the customer's customer to Sleder's at lunch last week. It's a great lunch spot and a good value for the money. I got the half sandwich (corned beef on rye) with a cup of ham and bean soup. It was very good and the portion sizes were generous. Our waitress was really attentive, quick, and polite. I'd definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleder's Family Tavern also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Sleder's Family Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleder's Family Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.