We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub at the back of the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schelde's Grille & Spirits

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Schelde's Grille & Spirits
714 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3525
231-946-0981
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pub at the back of the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

On this trip we were looking to watch the game and have a few drinks so we tried the bar instead of the restaurant.. It has a separate outside entrance around the back. It's your typical bar with lot's of flat screen TV's. We enjoyed talking with the locals who were so friendly that they were sharing their food with us ... lol. The bartender was hustling around so fast that we starting calling him Jimmy John as he was freaky fast ... This is a nice, small relaxing bar where you can get reasonably priced food and drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    23
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good lunch food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at a resort just down the road from Scheldes. We were starving when we got there and our room wasn't ready, so we stopped here as it was the first place we saw that looked appealing. The service was friendly and the food was good. It looks like an old Big Boy, with the all-window front room. The perch sandwich was tasty!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Schelde's has a nice restaurant in front and a smaller fun pub in back with t.v's, keno & laughs. Food is very good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for "comfort food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent service, delicious food and great price = great meal! My husband had the meatloaf and I had the shrimp pasta dish. Servers were very friendly and efficient. Other guests were happy with their meals and service as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Local Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We needed to bring some Broccoli Cheddar Soup back to the hotel for my mother in law and stopped at Schelde's for take out. We inquired about the soup and the answer was they always have it and the "take-out" waitress (yes they have one) assisted us with our order. I ordered a Reuben and my wife ordered the "Drunken Chicken Wrap" with advice from the waitress. We went to the bar and I had a beer thinking it might be awhile for the order to be put together and was very surprised when about 10 minutes later it was ready. The waitress brought it to us in the bar, in a larger plastic bag, and we took it back to our hotel. Well, everything was delicious and plentiful...my wife only ate have of her wrap and saved the rest for later (which I had !!)
They not only included oyster crackers with the soup but also a yeast roll and butter. Can't say if this is what happens every time on every order, but we'll sure be back when in Traverse City.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schelde's Grille & Spirits also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Schelde's Grille & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schelde's Grille & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.