We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Date. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Balloons - Private Tours

Grand Traverse Balloons - Private Tours
P.O. Box 6243, Traverse City, MI 49696
(231) 947-7433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 77 Activities in Traverse City
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best. Date. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Apparently my boyfriend got us on the last ride of the year a few weeks ago and it was awesome! Best. Date. Ever.

I just moved back from downstate and it was beyond words to see Traverse from up high! The colors were at their peak and Jeff the pilot made sure we hung out over East Bay and everyone had a great time.

The basket was filled with couples of varying ages and everyone was really cool (you don't have a lot of personal space in those things so being with chill people was a huge plus). The pilot and his crew were awesome, I didn't have any idea prior as to how they got the balloons up in the air (its kinda an ordeal) but everyone was really cool. The crew was fun and made sure everyone was having a good time.

When we landed (so smooth btw) we were presented w/ certificates and a local champagne toast which was a really nice touch!

Like I said before, I'm a local and this was hands down the best date ever! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Unexpected Surprise"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were not planning on going up in a hot air balloon while we were visiting Traverse City. We were on our private wine tour with Jeff from Grand Traverse Wine Tours and he mentioned that he also owned the Grand Traverse Balloons and said he was going up that night if we would like to join, we did and it was incredible. Jeff is just a awesome guy that we were lucky to spend the day with !!! I would highly recommend the balloon ride and the wine tour !!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place to go ballooning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've flown hot air balloons all over the country and the Grand Traverse area is by far the most beautiful place I've ever flown.
Jeff, the owner is very focused that every passenger has a safe and fun flight. Most flights you get to go high and get fantastic views of the bays, area lakes including Lake Michigan, the islands along with seeing tons of wildlife; deer, turkeys, hawks and even an occasional eagle.
Traverse City is the home of the National Cherry Festival and you will see an abundance of cherry orchards.
If your looking for additional things to do while in the area, many award winning wineries are there and Jeff can hook you up with his Grand Traverse Tours. He utilizes Mercedes Sprinters which are very roomy and hires experienced drivers that will show you a great time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Anniversary surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It was a awesome experience. The pilot was great and explained stuff to us. Highly recommend this to anyone of any age

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Early Morning Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was worth a second try! The first morning we were to launch was cancelled due to weather. The second morning was a go and it was amazing! Very beautiful and peaceful. We went over the bay and the views were worth every penny! The captian and crew were very nice and it was fun to have a champagne toast when we landed! It was a birthday present my husband and I will never forget!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Balloons - Private Tours also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Balloons - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Balloons - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.