We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cherry Tree Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“Nice Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visited the Traverse City area at the end of Feb. Cherry Tree offered a very spacious room (we stayed in a suite) for an affordable offseason rate. The pilot light was out in our fireplace so that was not working at first but they fixed it. Parking is very limited and that was difficult. The hot tub jets weren't working. The exercise room was small and VERY hot. Breakfast was more than adequate!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Good day!

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your getaway to Traverse City. I apologize for the issues you experienced with the room. We do have enough parking for each room in the hotel. Unfortunately, in the winter, the lines in the lot get covered with snow and people tend to park a bit further from each other than necessary. We will try to do a better job of clearing the lines to help with parking for our guests.

I have addressed the other items with the room. Thank you so much for your notes of your concerns, and I hope you come and visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    267
    79
    21
    18
See reviews for
295
530
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at this Inn for the first time this week and were very pleased with the amenities and ambiance. The folks at the front desk were always available and ready to give us suggestions for dining and sightseeing. We had a standard room with a great view of Lake Michigan which had a small kitchenette. Everything was clean and the pool was nice. The breakfast which is provided is very good and has a nice variety of choices - especially liked the Cherry coffee! There is a lot to see and do in Traverse City even in the Winter!

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms have a great view. There are also some rooms that have a hot tub in them, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello!

First, great picture of the ice-covered East Bay. It's amazing how odd it looks. Being a born and raised native of Traverse City, I love seeing the deep blue water surrounded by the white edges during wintertime. This all-white look is just odd to me!

Second, thank you for your review and your stay. I'm really happy that you enjoyed it so much -- especially the cherry coffee from Leelanau Coffee Roasting Company.

I hope you have a great rest of February and come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Bay Harbor Jacuzzi Suite over the Valentine's Day weekend.

The room was extremely nice. Comfortable bed, large double jacuzzi, very nice bathroom, nice size refrigerator, microwave, largest dresser we have ever had for clothes, and nice fireplace.

My only issue would be with the fireplace being on such a short timer. I realize that they do not want people turning on the fireplace and leaving it on all day and night long, but the 30 minute timer is just too short. I had to constantly get up and reset the timer. Not a huge deal though.

We also took advantage of the excellent breakfast buffet in the morning. Tons of hot and cold choices....bisquits and gravy were restaurant quality.

We will definitely be back - thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on-line to pick out your room - they are exactly like they are in person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Good day!

Thank you for your stay and I'm glad that you really enjoyed the Good Harbor Bay Studio. We can definitely make that change on the timer, though. I apologize for that. We'll look at changing those out for longer burns.

It's great you enjoyed the breakfast - we know it's hard to meet everyone's tastes for breakfast, so we are always looking at ways we can adjust and work it for everyone. I'm glad that the current selection is wonderful for you.

We'll be happy to have you back in the future. Have a wonderful February!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I got 4 nights away from the kids, and thanks to the numerous 5-star reviews, chose Cherry Tree in mid-February.

Our experience was nearly perfect, from start to finish. Upon booking we received so much help from the front desk, with payments, and emails and room options and everything else.

We originally had reserved the Leelanau suite on the second floor, but when we checked in, we were bumped to the third floor which had an even better view. The room itself was everything we could have asked for, with an in-room hot tub, a massive living area, a great HD television and a wrap-around balcony.

The daily breakfast was perfect if you didn't want to go downtown or anywhere else.
We even took advantage of the shuttle service, when the driver agreed to make a trip for us more than an hour than originally scheduled.

The price was extremely fair, given the winter season. My sister-in-law and husband even showed up one night and were able to book a room for themselves for $69.

The outdoor hot tub is also in use year round, which was truly awesome.

If i had to complain about anything, whatever rooms above us, they were substantially noisy, like someone was running around with boots on. The suite was also very bright, but that's hardly a complaint.

The summer rates do seem higher than most places, but for the suite we had, and the winter season where we wanted to enjoy TC with snow, this was a trip to remember.

We are scheduled back in TC this summer, and right now have a reservation with Park Shore Resort. If there is anyway Cherry Tree can come close to matching the price that we are going to pay at Park Shore, we will be quick to switch!

This was not a family trip, but the hotel looked very family friendly.

If you are going alone, pay the extra for one of the suites!

To all at Cherry Tree who may read this, thank you very much for the way you do business. You helped my wife and I have a much-needed break from reality!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Good morning!

Thank you for your very detailed and kind review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed so many of our amenities. The Leelanau Suites are wonderfully large rooms and they are even slated to get full bathroom remodels coming up very soon - we're excited to show those off when they are completed.

I'm glad you found us very reasonably priced through the winter, and we're actually one of the fairest priced in the summer as well for the amenities we offer. Unlike many other hotels, like Parkshore Resort, we offer two pools and hot tubs (indoor and outdoor), complimentary breakfast, kitchenettes in every room in the hotel, Playstation 2's in every room, HD TV channel programming to go along with our HD TV's, complimentary shuttle service, and more. We really focus on value for our guests so they know they are getting the most out of their stay with us.

Also, with the remodeling of our Leelanau Suites, we do plan to address more insulation under the tile floors to help dampen noise between floors. We apologize for that inconvenience.

Have a wonderful day and please come visit again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stay at the Cherry Tree Inn 2-3 times a year & will keep coming back. Love the in room Jacuzzi and the balcony views.
It's a beautiful hotel on East Bay with great balcony views no matter the time of year. Housekeeping does an excellent job & all the staff is always friendly and helpful!
The breakfast is always substantial and satisfying with a good variety of choices.
We just got home from a 3 night stay and are ready to go back!!
Great mid winter break!

Room Tip: If you're a couple traveling for a romantic stay make sure to book one of the many rooms with in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your return visits and we're ready to have you b back! :)

Depending on when you return, you may be in for a surprise. We're about to start renovations of our second building bathrooms and about fifteen other rooms in our main building. We're really excited for the renovations - new tile, new showers in tile (no more plastic), new glass features, new mirrors with TV's built in, new double sinks, and more. Just really nice comfortable bathrooms that we're very excited to offer our guests.

Have a wonderful day and please knock on my door to my office and say "Hi" to me next time you stay.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was a great hotel that I had gotten on a great deal. The room was nice and everything was clean. That staff was friendly and we had a great stay. They were even accomodating due to the fact my youngest had gotten sick while we were there. The pool is great and hot tub was nice also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good evening!

Thank you for your stay. I'm so sorry to hear about your child becoming sick. I hope he/she is feeling better now.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, the price you paid, and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to have you visit again soon. Have a wonderful rest of February!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Cherry Tree Inn is a beautiful hotel. Rooms are VERY well taken care of! Housekeeping does excellent job!
Price is perfect for off season. Too expensive during on season rates!
Negative:
DO NOT STAY WITH ROOM THAT HAS POOL SIDE!!! WALLS DO NOT KEEP OUT ANY NOISE FROM POOL AREA!!
We reserved room away or on opposite side of pool area, they gave us one on pool side because it was clean. BIG MISTAKE!!!!!
People who like quiet will regret this stay!
Manager on duty was very nice, Sheila.

Room Tip: REQUEST no room by pool if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your stay and your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our cleanliness, but I'm sorry that the room you reserved didn't work well for you. We do have four out of our seventy-six rooms that do look into our indoor pool area. I'm sorry that we couldn't find a better room for you during your stay - we've been quite full with lots of winter sports enthusiasts this year. If you contact us again, we'd be happy to lead you away from rooms that overlook our pool.

Also, I'm glad you found our winter rates a great deal. We really focus on value and you'll find our hotel to be one of the best values all-year long. We simply offer more amenities for less or equal rates to other hotels in Traverse City.

Thank you again for your stay and have a wonderful day. I hope you return and we can better accommodate you next time.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.