We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night to remember.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Cherry Tree Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
“A night to remember.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the great pleasure of sharing a very special night with Cherry Tree Inn and staff.
Should we be fortunate to make to our 50th anniversary. I have no doubts, about where we would be staying. The staff and rooms for our parties were perfect. There was nothing that my wife and I would have changed or wanted and that was the same with the other room we also had for our other quest. The breakfast was great. Both rooms had great views of the bay and sunset. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace just made the night. This is a winner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for your very kind review. I hope you do make it for your 50th anniversary! I'm glad both rooms were nice and you liked the fireplace - it's that time of year where those really make the rooms feel warm and homey.

Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    153
    49
    15
    14
See reviews for
189
313
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Checkin was nice, the room was nice, the view of the water was nice as well. The only thing that was kind of a damper was the room was a suite, and the room that had the bed had no temp control, making the cold. Other then that, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the temperature control in the suite you stayed in. We do have 10 suites that we are working on improving the temperature control between the living and bedroom areas. The remaining 66 rooms we have don't have this trouble. We can help direct you to one of those rooms int he future, but we are working to improve these 10 suites in the near future.

Thank you again. Have a great day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Leelanau suite in mid-September, and it was a very spacious suite. We especially enjoyed the large wraparound balcony that faced the bay with a great view of the sunsets. The bed was extremely comfortable, but the pillows left a lot to be desired. However, this is a common complaint that we have with most of the hotels that we have ever stayed at. The furnishings in the bedroom were very nice, but the decor in the living room area could use a little more pizzaz, as well as the bathroom facilities. The breakfast was just average, and the breakfast room itself was a little too small (at least on the days that we were there) to adequately handle the overflow of guests, so we ended up bringing our food up to our suite. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We had one small issue with one of the TV's in our suite, but as soon as we called the front desk, they sent someone immediately to address the problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the Leelanau Suite. You'll be happy to learn that these suites are being remodeled this winter - new carpet, furniture, and bathrooms. We're quite excited for these updates and I think it will add the pizzaz you'd like to see.

Thank you so much for your review. Have a nice fall and come see the remodeled suites when they are done after this winter.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Cherry Tree Inn is one of the best hotels we stay in on our cross country excursions. I book several hotels year round and this one is at the top of my list. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are wonderful, great breakfast, and a perfect location. I will continue to book by groups at the Cherry Tree Inn every time I'm in Traverse City.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for bringing your group to our hotel. It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We'll be happy to welcome your groups in the future and help them around our gorgeous area.

Have a wonderful rest of fall.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here on the weekend of the 13th and 14th of October. TC was buzzing with the warm weather and the hotel and area were quite busy with people. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very nice and in a great location. A few things to pick on which are not huge, but need some mention. Our A/C unit was a bit loud and buzzy, but we did report it and it improved a bit. Pillows are a bit small but bed was comfy! Breakfast room was a bit warm and full, but again the hotel was fully occupied.
Now the good parts of the review. Room was very comfy and quiet. Room accessories were great (in room tub, fireplace, etc.) Place was very quiet, no noise from other parts of hotel. Would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are suites, so pick one you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review of your stay. I greatly appreciate it. I apologize for the hiccups that you encountered during your stay. I will address these items with our staff so we can better prepare our rooms and also focus on better improvements to our linen and breakfast area in the future.

I hope you do return to enjoy our area once again. Have a wonderful night!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although it has been a couple of months since our family vacation to Traverse City (Mid-August), I'm still smiling at what a great time we had at the Cherry Tree Inn and Suites. The amenities, location and service were top notch.

We were looking for a location that had many on-site amenities. At the time of our trip, our children were 2 years and 4 mos. old and we weren't looking to pack up the car again and hop all over town. We were impressed with the beachfront, sunsets, play structure for the kids, indoor and outdoor pools, children's library and our 2nd floor Elk Rapids Studio room. As for value, we found that for an extra $50 night we could stay at a great place over staying at a place "just to sleep."

The staff was very helpful. We had a minor issue with a group of guys smoking cigars on the beach and the wind was blowing the smell into our room. A call to the front desk and the problem was resolved within 5 minutes. Ashley at the front desk also was very helpful and welcoming.

Even though the beach is on a sandbar, it worked out great for my two year old. We could walk a 100 yards out and the water was lower than her knees.

The Inn is right across the street from access to the TART (Traverse Area Recreation Trail), which is awesome for jogging or biking.

The only thing that I would change with the Inn are the door closures. The doors close loudly and it can wake you up, sounds like a firing range. The front desk said that they are in the process of performing renovations and would consider my suggestion. Soft door closers would make the Inn perfect.

We already booked our trip for next year in an Elk Rapids Studio. I look forward to going back to the Cherry Tree Inn and Suites and North Peak Brewing Company, my favorite place for dinner.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are more accessible, but there are usually ducks that are looking for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - especially after a few months since your visit!

First, thank you for the pictures that you shared of our beach and the sunsets. They are wonderful and we're so lucky to get the awesome sunsets over the water. Just awesome!

Second, I'm glad you and your children enjoyed the beach and the shallowness of our access. I like it because you get such a different perspective of the waterfront being able to walk out a long ways without going over your knees. This allows for great walks in the water along the shore in the water plus views and photo opportunities that are unlike any other beach area in the much of the world.

Finally, thank you for your suggestion on the door closers. I still have that note in my renovation notes, and I will be pursuing it with our updates this winter. I apologize that the doors were closing louder. One of the troubles we have is that since we are on the water and we have patio doors, this allows for rushes of air flow, making the doors closer louder. That's the #1 cause of the fast-closing door. Finding a closer to balance between the rush of air and being able to close when the patio door is sealed is a tricky fix. But we'll see what we can do!

Thank you again and have a wonderful rest of the year. I hope you come visit again with your family so we can see your children grow!

Best

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First time to Traverse City area and decided to stay here. Overall everything about the Inn was excellent. Attentive staff, very clean and well appointed rooms, good choices for Breakfast. Room was quiet and we were next to the elevator! Breakfast: have the standard fare including waffles but what was different is that each day they had a different hot item. Even though it is located on the east side of Traverse City we were still only minutes from downtown. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello first-time TC visitors!

Thank you for visiting our area for the first time. I hope you got to enjoy a lot of the area and see how lucky the Cherry Tree Family is to live and work in the area (not trying to make you jealous at all - promise. We just feel very fortunate to be able to live in this great area and work in our great hotel!)

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay - from the attentive staff to the good choices for breakfast. It's always nice to see that we are doing the rights things for our guests.

I hope you had an uneventful and safe trip home or wherever you traveled after Traverse City. Please do come visit and explore some more in our area soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Traverse City
Address: 2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.