We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Cherry Tree Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #3 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful family stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, two year old daughter, and myself picked the Cherry Tree Inn for our first visit to Traverse City Mi. We had a great and comfortable stay.

We stayed in the Mackinak Island Suite and we were very happy with the room. The room was large, clean, and had a amazing view of the bay. TV's and appliances were modern. The kitchen had fridge and microwave. It was wonderful to be able to put our 2 year old to bed in the bed room, and have another living room to relax in without disturbing her. The balcony and view were the best part. One of the most impressive sunsets I have seen.

The pool / hot tub (indoor and outdoor) were small but nice. We never felt crowded and the water temp was warm. Pool was clean.

The lobby and morning breakfast were some of the best things about Cherry Inn. The breakfast was large and had a lot of variety for a free breakfast. Hot Eggs, sausage, bacon. Bagels, coffee cake, hard boiled eggs, waffle makers, cereals, oatmeals, etc, etc,. Our daughter loved it. The lobby always has a plate of chocolate chip cookies available anytime for anyone which was a nice touch. Another simple but nice touch was the flavored water dispenser. Each day it was a different item in the water (lemons, limes, mint, etc). Just a simple but appreciated extra. The lobby also has a comfortable TV area with free coffee anytime (cherry coffee is amazing).

The only complaint we have on this stay is the beach. We had planned our Friday to be the main "beach day." However, when we woke up, there were tractors on the beach churning up and cleaning the sand. We figured they would be done in an hour, so went to the pool to wait it out. But it lasted ALL day. The tractors kicked up dust which everyone was complaining about and no one could use the beach. It appears to be a nice beach location, but unfortunately we were unable to enjoy it. Not sure why the hotel would choose a Friday for such a disruptive construction job. Why not Wednesday?

But that aside, the location, room, and service is wonderful here. Its especially geared towards families with kids. If you are single or a couple looking for night life, i recommend staying more towards downtown as there are not a lot of adult actives (no bars, restaurants, or room service at this hotel). But everyone there seemed to have kids, and were all having a great stay.

We will happily return to this great hotel. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you stay in a suite, bring a box fan to help air circulate into sleeping area. The AC unit is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Good day!

Thank you so much for your review and staying at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed all the small things we do.

I am sorry for the beach work we had done on the Friday. We schedule sifting of the beach sand to remove weeds, trash, and large rocks. It was told to us that the company would only take 4 hours max. Unfortunately, they took over 8 hours to my great displeasure. I was very happy with how the beach came out after, but I was unhappy how it affected our guests.

Friday was was actually the best day for us to have it done due to the greatest amount of checkouts and check-ins that day, leaving few guests on property during the day. Our entire rest of the week, besides Sunday, was 100% full with a large amount of stayover guests. I apologize for this great inconvenience, and I will work with the company in better handling this in the future.

I'm glad you'll be returning and I hope you have a wonderful summer. Thank you again for your stay and your kind review.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    162
    52
    17
    14
See reviews for
199
326
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have stayed here a few times before and have always been very pleased with this hotel. They have different types of rooms to choose from. Rooms are roomy and the beds are great. They have both firm and soft pillows on their beds. They have both indoor and outdoor pools plus a beach and a small playground for children. Breakfast is good. I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: View rooms on their web page as they offer different sizes.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are big on recycling. You can also choose to reuse your towels and sheets.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Good evening!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the many amenities and offerings we have for our guests. It is unique that we have 18 different room types to fit everyone's needs.

Have a wonderful day and we'll be happy to welcome you back to the Cherry Tree and the Traverse City area.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Could not have asked for better. Not luxurious, but super clean, super comfortable and super all together. We have a 19 month old, having a bedroom that closed off was great (we stayed in leelanau suite) b/c we could put her to bed and relax in the living room or on patio after she went to bed. Beach was great, not for swimming (on sand bar so super shallow) but great for walking and splashing. We had a waterview suite and it is a wonderful view of the Bay. Both indoor and outdoor pools were great, outdoor has fantastic view on water. First time here and we would definitely stay here again! Bed was comfortable (rare in hotels), room was spacious and well designed and little kitchenette was perfect! Free breakfast was pretty good (especially considering it is free) but eating area is very small and you may not get a table.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, you will be in separate building which has no amenities (ice machine, front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm happy you enjoyed our Leelanau Suite and enjoyed our beach area. It is a shallow front, so it makes it perfect for young children or taking a beach chair out and having it half way in the water. It makes for quite an experience with the water you can't find many places.

Thank you again and I hope you have a nice week. Please come visit the Traverse City area once again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn June 20 to 13rd. and were quite satisfied with our room. The view from our balcony was great. Breakfast in the morning was good too. The shuttle took us downtown to get dinner or to the casino if you want. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view and balcony when making reservations. (and AARP or AAA discount too)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Diva!

I'm happy that you had such a wonderful stay at the Cherry Tree. I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service, too. We're happy to be one of the few hotels in town that provide a complimentary shuttle to Downtown Traverse City, the airport, and the casino.

We'll be happy to welcome you back again in the future. Take care!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The perfect place for us to stay - private beach, wonderful sunsets, attentive staff as well as centrally located to TC and surrounding areas. Minor concerns were addressed immediately. Already booked next year and can't wait to come back to the hotel and area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your recent stay. It's great that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially our beach and the sunsets. We'll be happy to welcome you back next year so you can see our continued improvements!

Have a wonderful summer.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nice family hotel and we had a fine stay. This was our first time to Traverse City (people from the Northeast don't realize how amazing this part of Michigan is!), and we stayed here on the way to somewhere else. Our room was huge, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable and clean. The staff was wonderful. Overall, this is a pleasant place to stay, not a special place nor a destination, but all-around fine.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel borders a non-descript strip highway, the other side borders the bay. Defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the views and our large rooms. I hope you had safe travels the rest of the way. Have a wonderful summer!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our trip this year brought us back to TC and to the Cherry Tree Inn. Excellent in every way! friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms with outstanding views of Traverse Bay and, in some cases, you can even walk out onto the beach from your room. We had an upper floor with an awesome balcony for those great sunrises and sunsets. Our suite was huge! I will always remember this room!

Breakfast was good and better than most, but I wish I had more protein and fewer carbs. I know this is hard to do. The cherry coffee was wonderful! I drank some every morning and evening -- love the taste!

The convenience of this hotel to all sightseeing, wineries, and downtown TC make it a "must stay" if you are thinking about coming up to TC in the future. We will be back another time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay or, if you want to be close to the beach, ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good day!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and thorough review. I'm glad the large suite was so memorable. I hope you enjoyed seeing all the updates we have done this past year. And we just ordered our new exercise equipment today! We're always looking at the next improvement to make.

I hope you had a safe trip home. Please come visit Traverse City area again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.