We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Cherry Tree Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Super Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First visit to the Cherry Tree Inn. Check in was very quick and easy and yummy cookies while we were waiting. The lobby area was very clean and the room was just a clean and cozy and smelled nice. The breakfast in the morning was very good with lots of choices and plenty of room to sit. We even had a little TV in the bathroom. Well worth the price and would definitely stay again. We did prefer to use the stairs because the elevator was very slow but find that with a lot of hotels.

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello and happy spring! Sometime soon, we'll see those cherry blossoms popping along the peninsulas! :)

Thank you so much for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel. And especially pleased that you found the check-in to be quick and easy while enjoying the yummy chocolate chip cookies we make daily. Thank you also for mentioning how you like our lobby and all it's seating. With our renovations that were completed October 2012, our focus was to create a more relaxing and comfortable lobby - more so than just a couple couches. And, of course, I'm glad you enjoyed the TV in the bathroom!

Thank you again, and I hope you come visit or great region again soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    153
    49
    15
    14
See reviews for
189
313
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have now stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn twice. On our first visit our room was on the Bay (what a beautiful view even in the winter!!!). On our second visit our room was pool side. Both rooms were just amazing. The beds are sooo comfy and the rooms are very clean!!!

On our second visit it had snowed during the night we woke up to our cars cleaned off (How amazing is that???) It is the little things that people really remember (I know we will).

The Staff is just amazing, breakfast in the morning is a real breakfast, and very YUMMY!!!

Thank you to the Staff and Management who work so hard to make this a wonderful establishment. We are sure to return!!!

Room Tip: Looks like the rooms ending in the even numbers are on the Bayside!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for your stay and your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the beds so much on both of your stays, and we are happy to clear off our guests' cars to help them get their day going faster on the white days we get at times. :)

We'll be happy to have you return. Thank you again for your kind review. Have a wonderful day.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights here over her Spring Break. We were "wow-ed" from the very first moment we drove up to the hotel. We stayed in one of the more affordable (to us) studios, the Elk Rapids Studio. It was clean and cozy, with a wonderful view of the bay. Unfortunately it was cold during our visit, otherwise I would have sat on the balcony each morning with my cherry coffee! I'm not sure of the age of this hotel, but I can tell they take very good care of it. I saw no signs of worn carpet and cracking grout in our room, however we did see worn carpet in the stairwells, which we preferred to use instead of the elevator. We were on the 2nd floor; I think we'll ask for a higher floor for our next visit to help improve our view. As with most hotels, the room doors tended to slam shut, which was very loud and would make the walls shake. It's surprised me how many people allowed this to happen over and over. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the cold night air but were concerned that other guests had allowed their pre-teen children to use the hot tub at 9:30 at night without supervision. Overall, we had a wonderful, relaxing visit and enjoyed shopping at a local store for which the hotel supplied a 20% off coupon.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the 'buy one night, get the 2nd night at 1/2-off' special. That deal help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for your stay and your review of your spring break visit. Sorry the weather wasn't warmer - it will get there soon. On a good note, the weather being cooler at this time helps make a stronger cherry and other crops.

I hope you have a wonderful day and come visit again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn for St Patricks Weekend. Our room had a fire place and jacuzzi. In room Starbucks coffee, and a great breakfast.

Bed was comfortable, room was quiet. What impressed me most was the staff. Without exception, they were smiling, friendly, and helpful.

Great views of the Bay.

We used to Stay at the Park Place, but this has become our new favorite!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good afternoon on this rainy day in April! At least we should have some beautiful May flowers coming up soon.

Thank you for your kind review, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay, including our in-room Starbucks coffee.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed the Cherry Tree Family. I will be sure that they get some good pats on their backs.

Have a wonderful day and spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had the 2 bedroom suite, the people were fantastic, our family had an amazing Easter getaway weekend, price was great, room was great, couldnt find anything wrong with the Cherry Tree!! Our son has severe food allergies and we went down for the breakfast, i was very happy to see that they had a binder with all of the ingredient lists of the food that they were serving, to many people that may not be a big deal, but it was to us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Good afternoon!

Thank you for your kind review and your Easter weekend stay. I'm glad you had a wonderful time, and I'm happy that our breakfast nutrition fact binder helped you and your son during your stay.

I hope you have a wonderful April and that you return to Traverse City again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for a long weekend, clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, great breakfast and coffee bar with Traverse City Cherry coffee, outdoor hot tub was a nice plus. The staff was very helpful with directions and things to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Happy sunny April day!

Thank you for your recent stay for the long weekend. I'm glad you found a clean spacious room with a comfy bed and my helpful team members around the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the Leelanau Coffee Roasting Companies cherry coffee we offer in our lobby as well. We love supporting our local vendors - we just started offering Great Lakes Potato Chips in our Sweet Shoppe as well!

Thank you again and have a wonderful start to spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just returned from our third stay at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites in Traverse City. My husband and I take a long weekend for a getaway each spring and this was our third year staying here. We love the hotel, the rooms are awesome, and the staff is great! This year we had a situation with the people staying in the room above us and the staff handled everything quickly and professionally. Everybody on staff is friendly, helpful, and willing to help out however they can! The rooms are fantastic and very clean. We certainly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for very kind review. It's just so wonderful to read and know that you had a wonderful stay. The Cherry Tree Family will be very happy to read your review as well. Have a nice day and come visit our great town again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Traverse City
Address: 2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.