We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second trip to The Cherry Tree Inn and Suites ~ can't wait for a third!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cherry Tree Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenwood, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our second trip to The Cherry Tree Inn and Suites ~ can't wait for a third!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed in the Harbor Springs Suite from Thursday, April 7 through Sunday, April 10. This was our second time visiting The Cherry Tree and the second time in the Harbor Springs Suite as well.

The room was immaculate, and the bed comfortable. We loved the fireplace, although we were there during a warmer weekend than it usually is in April (thank goodness!!) so we didn't use it much. The in-room jacuzzi is fabulous! The kitchenette area is very convenient. I liked the bowed out shower rod, but the curtain seemed a bit short and it was difficult to keep in the shower stall. The hair dryer also didn't stay attached to the wall. We ran into housekeeping and let them know, and I also wrote in on the comment card so I am convinced it will be taken care of. The staff really goes out of their way to make sure everything is perfect for their guests.

Every morning we used our binoculars and looked at the birds and wildlife on the bay. We were lucky enough to watch a juvenile bald eagle every morning, trying to fish for its breakfast. What a beautiful way to start a day!!

The staff was always professional and friendly, and I like the change of the cherry chairs in the Sweet Shoppe now and the different furniture in the breakfast room. All of the public areas are warm and inviting. They have thought of everything, from umbrellas in the lobby for guest use to drinks, snacks, and personal items for sale in the Sweet Shoppe.

We are already planning a trip back in the early fall and again next spring. We just love the Traverse City area and the Cherry Tree Inn and Suites!

Thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    192
    58
    20
    15
See reviews for
224
360
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We went to Traverse CIty for my husbands birthday and stayed at Cherry Tree Inn for the first time. The staff was professional and friendly.
The facilities and our room were clean and in good repair. We had a fantastic view of the bay. We did not have one of the newly remodeled rooms, but it was still comfortable. The Inn was very convenient to both peninsulas to visit the numerous wineries.
There was a nice selection for breakfast each morning before we headed out for the day. I especially liked the sitting room next to the lobby with the toasty fire place where I sat and read a book. Only complaint is that the pool was too chilly.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hello! Thank you for your kind review. Aren't the peninsulas great? I'm glad to hear you enjoyed them and their wineries. I'm sorry, though, that you thought the pool was a bit chilly. Our twice daily recordings have been reading that it's at 83 degrees and the hot tub is at 103 degrees. We will continue to monitor as we do to ensure that it does stay consistent and comfortable for our guests.

Have a great spring and summer!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscoda, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I went to the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites for the first night of our honeymoon and we had a wonderful room with a great view for a great price! I have 15 years experience in the hospitality industry so I am very picky when it comes to hotels and motels. This was the second time I stayed at the Cherry Tree - that says alot! The only thing I could find wrong with the room was the fact that the ceiling light in the bathroom had no cover and there were gaps between the pieces of crown moulding. BUT, I think I heard something about them having remodeled rooms and I don't think we had a remodeled room...next time I am hoping for one of those:) Remodeld room or not, it was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable, glad to have the mini-fridge, microwave and sink. Even though it was winter it was great to have the balcony and such a beautiful view. The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant (poor girl - she was there when we checked in and when we checked out - very cheerful though!!!). Thanks for a great stay - we look forward to seeing you the same time next year for our first anniversary!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Congratulations on your marriage and honeymoon. We love hearing those stories of joy and happiness! Thank you for your review and have a wonderful 1st year of marriage and here's to at least 74 more! :)

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Evening service was fabulous (evening desk staff was very friendly), room layout and size was wonderful, bathroom lock didn't work (but we loved our room anyway), usually, in a hotel I am a little concerned about cleanliness, it was as close to clean as I have ever seen....meaning you have to look pretty hard to find. (bathroom ceiling light fixture was open and very dusty) breakfast was great, pool was just the right size and temp., spa in room was very large. I would highly recommend this hotel to others...I would definately return

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I do apologize for the two maintenance items that you experienced. We will fix those right away. The bath fans used to have large heat lamps in them, but in an effort to conserve engery and bring a better look to the bathroom ceilings, we're switching them to energy efficient lights and new light and fan covers. I apologize that yours wasn't changed yet.

Thank you again. We will continue to work to be better for you in the future.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We went to CTI&S on our honeymoon and it was wonderful! The staff all knew we were newlyweds and treated us as such. We got great advice at where to go and where to eat, plus the hotel is beautiful. Even in March the views were amazing, the pool was cool and the hot tub was clean. There was also a continental breakfast that was really good. You could make your own waffles or have biscuits and gravy. Even though there were a lot of people staying there, it was quiet and really nice coming back to a clean room!

Room Tip: Try for bay views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Hello and thank you! Congratulations on your marriage. I'm pleased that our hotel fit what you were looking for during your celebration vacation! We wish you a wonderful marriage and a wonderful year!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Excellent weekend for women- great food, classes, service (exceptional)
Rooms were bright, clean, spacious and a gerat view of the Bay.
Cannot say enough aboutt this great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Hello and Happy Spring! :) Thank you enjoying our March Women's Weekend. It's a lot of time and effort to put it together, but it turned out beautifully (of course, the weather could have been a bit warmer but it was wonderfully sunny). We're looking forward to our November Women's Weekend! Glad you made it home safely. Have a nice and refreshing start to spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Cherry Tree Inn is a wonderful place to stay. We booked a suite with a balcony and a great view of Lake Michigan. The suite was clean, spacious and quiet. Thick towels, pillow top mattress, two TVs, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot. The free breakfast was wonderful with hot waffles and cherry topping. For lunch and dinner there are many delicious restaurants close by. The Cherry Tree Inn is our first choice when we are in the area. The staff is friendly and accommodating. It is also Pet Free which is a plus for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay at our hotel. The staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay when you visit. The pet free is definitely nice for those who have sensitive allergies. We love our fury friends, but a hotel without them around helps us keep it cleaner and more comfortable for all of our guests.

Have a wonderful April.

Take Care,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US-31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.