We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Outstanding Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse
12301 Center Road, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Another Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse a few years ago and enjoyed it so much that I went again: this time with friends. All 6 rooms have been renovated and I am a light sleeper: no problems with sound through walls as some people have mentioned. As a 'resident' you have full use of the house: large living room; dining room; fitness center downstairs; tea/coffee room and all the beautiful deck areas. The kitchen is well stocked with anything and everything you will need for a self service light or an extremely full breakfast: I particularly enjoy the Belgian Waffles!

The housekeeping is outstanding and unobtrusive: all rooms are spic and span and while the bathrooms are a bit small, everything necessary for you is there. Each room has a kitchenette with microwave (including complementary popcorn!), refrigerator, glasses, plates and tableware.

The peace and quiet of the Inn is special: other Inns and B&Bs in the area seem to be rather hectic and busy-perhaps some might enjoy having their B&B attached to the winery: I don't and prefer having a private home tucked away, but close to the Chateau Grand Traverse to be a special benefit. Enjoy your nightly complementary bottle of wine: in your room if weather is inclement or on your own balcony. If travelling with friends as I did: we enjoyed a dinner with wine 'al fresco' on the outdoor common balconies off the tea/coffee room and living room enjoying the sun setting over the vineyards and Grand Traverse Bay. I hope to return annually!

Room Tip: #6 has a king bed and overlooks the vineyards. #3 has a queen bed and looks out to the Grand Traver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I took my in-laws to Northern Michigan last week. We chose the Inn for our lodging because of its central location on the Mission Peninsula. From there, we were able to explore Suttons' Bay, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Glen Arbor, Charlevoix, Petoskey and Mackinac State Park.

The Inn is situated about 100 yards from the main winery building and is a very large 6 bedroom house set amidst beautiful large trees and vineyards. Each room is equipped with its own bath, balcony, refrigerator, microwave, and sitting area. The room was very bright and clean and was stocked with complimentary granola bars, popcorn, and coffee. The only problem with the room was the thinness of the walls. My in-laws were awoken by their neighbors' tv on two different nights.

The common area is well-maintained and includes two sitting areas, a large dining room, a sun room, a game room and a large deck. There is also a small workout room with a sauna, a treadmill, a stairmaster, an exercise bike and a few weight machines. Breakfast is self-served and adequate but not great.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Inn, especially our nightly wine on our balcony, and returned home very relaxed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First time at a winery inn. Very clean, spacious "mansion" which you have run of the mill. Very nice self service breakfast spread, winery discounts, free samples, tours, lovely grounds. Rooms are spacious with kitchenette. Staff is very helpful, cheery and positive. Everything is very clean. It is very peaceful and quiet, you can kinda hear the others (walls/doors a bit thin) but no one was rowdy and there are only maybe 6 rooms. There is even a secret passage room.....come check it out! You also get a free bottle of wine per night! There is a workout area, sauna, sitting room (windows) big dining room, library, common room, books, kitchen etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

There were six of us in our party, and we stayed in three rooms for four nights. We used this for a base to visit Sleeping Bear Dunes area, the wineries in both peninsulas, and nearby resort towns. The rooms were superb, as well as the living/social areas of the inn. The views from our rooms were truly magnificent. The breakfast was self serve in a very nice breakfast room, and we had many choices of items for breakfast. The winery is the largest in the area and gives free tastings. They also provide your choice of a bottle of wine for each night you stay.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms. We stay in #1, and it had a great view & king size bed. #2 & #3 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Not sure what to expect when we arrived, being that this was going to be the first time myself and my wife stayed at an Inn. But when we arrived we found a very intimate, clean, and mature home away from home. The rooms were by simple, small kitchenette, a couch and table, and a comfortable bed. But they think of small things, like paper towel and dish soap. No charges for things like popcorn, granola, and a free bottle of wine every night. Oh, and did I mention that the rooms are clean? Outside of your room there is a whole mansion of rooms to explore or to relax at. The "breakfast" room was neat and tidy, with everything you can have for a snack or breakfast.
Got to say that I was impressed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had such a nice time. My husband and I spent our 25th anniversary here and it was everything we could have hoped for. The rooms were lovely, the food was great, the staff was incredibly accommodating and pleasant. Even when I messed up the reservations, they went out of their way to fix things. And the grounds are spectacular. We can't say enough positive things about our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Station, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was a true gem of a find. We did not expect such a wonderful place. The Inn was just a stop over for a couple days as we were doing a road trip up the west coast of Michigan up to Mackinaw Island. After just ac coupke days we were wiishing we planned our whole vacation here. The Inn is beuitiful and comfortable. There are only six rooms with spectacular common areas. We got to know the other folks staying at the Inn and was able to share different points of interest. You are kind of left alone and made to feel at home, Wendy who came every morning cleaned up helped with breakfast and gave great tips on the area was super. The Inn is at the Chateau Grand Traverse Wnery/Vineyard. It is on the Mission Peninula Wine Trail. You get a bottle of wine each night with your room (and of course we bought many more) so we were able to sample many of there fine wines, they have several award winners. We loved the area and the Inn and plan on coming back (hopefully soon). The breakfast room was well stocked with just about any breakfast food you want. You just make what you want. It was fun. It looked like they have a huge kitchen and dining room which must be for special events, as overnight guests we did not have nor need access. There was a grill on the deck (very big deck).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse

Also Known As:
The Inn At Chateau Grand Traverse Hotel Traverse City
The Inn At Chateau Grand Traverse Hotel
Address: 12301 Center Road, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse to your Saves list