We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our room was exactly as expected per the photos, which was great. The accommodations were very nice-bed comfortable, plenty of room-the suite was large!, balcony was nice, the view was great, and the room was quiet. The front desk staff was nice and the last hour of the pool hours is 'adults only' which was a nice surprise. Free coffee 24/7, that was great. The location of the resort is right near downtown and has plenty of restaurants nearby. The housekeeping staff did a very nice job. My one complaint is that the housekeeping staff was a bit noisy as they were cleaning rooms-it woke me up every day of stay. We also found it a little difficult to find a parking spot. Overall, a great stay and it was very affordable and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    69
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
88
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel was very nice, clean, and relaxing. The continental breakfast offered a lot of variety from cereal to waffles to bagels and oatmeal. I did not get to use the pool, but it looked nice. I would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

As others have noted, the facilities are a bit dated and worn, but we enjoyed the spacious room, and especially the beach view and balcony, even though the temperatures during our stay reached sub-zero Fahrenheit. As smokers, it was nice to be able to step out briefly for a smoke without having to trudge downstairs to get outside.

The service staff was polite and helpful, the maids were considerate and efficient, the beds were comfortable and the room quiet and clean. We got a good deal on the room after Hotels.com screwed up our reservation at another resort, but it wasn't the cheapest deal in town. That was made up for by the well-maintained pool and hot tub, though there is no dressing room or shower.

In general, a decent middle-upper lodging with perks and substantially above the threshold of good enough. Dunno what it'd be like in summer, but over the Xmas holiday it was a great place to retreat after an evening with the relatives.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This resort is excellent and it has a sister resort called The Sugar Beach which is about a half a block from Grand Beach. They both have a big sandy beach and the rooms are very nice. The breakfast room is also very good. We have stayed here for about 15 years and will not go any where else. The water front rooms are the best.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are very nice if you like to see the water instead of the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I were pointed in the direction of the Grand Beach after the Cherry Hotel was all booked up. The manager was very friendly - 2 handshakes in fact and personable..
The room was right on the beach which was beautiful despite the poor weather.
You can tell that it is an older hotel, but the bathroom is up to date. It doesn't have a flat screen, but that isn't a big deal for me. It also included breakfast which was pretty typical of a hotel continental breakfast. There is a pool, a hot tub and a game room as well.
The only downside was the parking. It is pretty limited, but they were accommodating and let us park in the reserved parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here with three kids. Had good size room that faced the beach. The place is pretty dated, but I knew that from previous reviews. The service at the front desk is extremely limited. We had to go there each time we needed a beach towel (which would be every day). The breakfast was terrible. Crowded and just not good food. We went to downtown T.C. instead and were very glad we did. Beds were ok. Bathroom was dark and had a weird setup. Will definitely look elsewhere the next time we visit T.C.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our room was clean, we had a nice view, and the parking was a breeze. I was impressed most of all, though, by how the staff practically bend over backwards to help me with a computer situation. While on a business trip/family mini-vacation in Traverse, I had to print some invoices, etc., out on the hotel business center computer. The staff was quick in finishing-up on the phone with hotel business, offered to let me use THEIR copier, twice came to see how all was working with their printer, and apologized for what they called a slow connection. I was thrilled with how fast the internet connection was, and how efficiently the printer could be loadeded, then printed-out what I needed. No issues. No stress for me because it all worked like it should have. Had I not had the staff help, I'd have had to navigate through town and out to the mall to find a copy center. What a relief and huge timesaver. On top of that, my family was able to stay occupied in the pool and arcade while I was off doing business. That was a bonus! This is a place where service has been made a priority...a rare find at a reasonably-priced hotel.

Room Tip: Cover your heater with a towel on windy nights because there is a major draft that creates a howling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.