We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Hotel was a very good value for the price. It is has a good location and the rooms were spacious and very clean. the view of the lake was good. The breakfast room was inviting and had healthy food.

Room Tip: Stay on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    63
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
61
77
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my first visit to TC. My family & I (1 another adult & 1 male teenager) spent 4 nights. It is a very family-oriented location. There were lots of families with smaller children. Many of those families seemed to be occupying the beach view rooms. My room faced the courtyard (parking lot) & was quiet. I didn't mind walking down to the beach. There was a booth set up to so guests could pay to use jet skis, the water trampoline and other water equipment

The room was decorated with a cottage/nautical theme. The bed/linen were fine (I have back problems). The fixtures and bathroom were newer & clean. The breakfast bar is very basic, more of a continental breakfast with two waffle makers, but satisfying. The lay out of the breakfast buffet area isn't the best, so there tends to be a line. During my stay, the staff didn't start removing the items @ the designated time, instead allowed the last guest to serve themselves.

Even with the "hidden resort fee", I thought not having to try and cross M-31 (from another hotel) with a (comfortable) beach chair and other items was worth it. The public access/parking area down the street was crowded & I think was metered parking and/or a fee. There were ample chairs and chaise lounge chairs outside of the hotel. I was able to take advantage of a travel special/coupon, so I found the cost of my stay to be reasonable.

I appreciate the convenience of a refrigerator & microwave. We were able to store left overs & keep beverages cool. Many of the staff members were very friendly. There were chain and local restaurants in the area as well as fast food choices.

We also drove to the Dunes during our stay...well worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed at at a half dozen hotels in Traverse City and, believe me, despite what the people at the Grand Beach will tell you, none of them charge a hidden resort fee. This 4% fee is added to the price quoted for your room and is nonnegotiable. It covers breakfast and internet; in other words, it covers things that are included in the price at other hotels and added without your knowledge or consent. The desk clerk says it is "just the same as a tax." Ha! Taxes are levied by the government. This fee is added at the discretion of the management, not required by law.

I have never paid such a fee in travels to four countries and all fifty states. I'd actually be ashamed of myself if I was hoodwinked by such a scheme.

Also had difficulty canceling a reservation, though I was clearly well ahead of the cancellation deadline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean room with comfortable beds, bathroom updated and very clean, microwave and refridgerator, wonderful lakeview , great sauna and pool area, nice light breakfast, and very helpful , friendly and welcoming front desk employees is what we experienced at our stay at the Grand Beach Resort Hotel in September. Restaurants and shopping very close to the hotel with a added bonus of a airport very close that we flew into. Unfortunately the weather was cool that week and we didn't get to enjoy the beach, but it was sunny ...perfect for hiking and visiting Sleeping Bear Dunes and surrounding sites. We had a wonderful stay and would like to visit again ......in warmer weather !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Grand Beach Hotel, leaving the Hampton down the street for what we thought would be "greener pastures." We were drawn to the possiblility of staying at a nice place on the beach, but choosing the Grand Beach Hotel was a big mistake! While this property does have a lovely beach area and a nice view of Lake Michigan, the inside of this hotel is ghastly. The carpeting in the halls and rooms is dirty and old, and our room, on a non-smoking floor, had a stale cigarette odor. The beds could not compare to the Hampton Inn. They were lumpy and uncomfortable. All the furnishings have seen better days. As for the free breakfast, what a joke! There was a pittance of food, which included cereal, bread for toast, juice and coffee. There was no fruit, bagels, or sweet rolls. Upon checking in, the clerk had informed us that the $7.50 resort fee was to cover breakfast, and other resort conveniences. Not sure what those conveniences might be. However, if you need a room in Traverse City, stay at the Hampton Inn, and walk across the street to enjoy your lake activities. Don't bother with this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin Oh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We took and mini vacation to Traverse City and stayed at the Grand Beach Resort hotel. It was a wonderful place to stay. We had the lake front view and it was breath taking. Lots ot actives close to the hotel to. Rooms are very clean and big. Free breakfast in the lobby and a game room for kids and indoor pool for the whole family. Mid- September prices are great to.

Room Tip: Tip is good clean place to stay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had trouble finding a hotel for ONE night in Traverse City in mid-September. Most required a two night stay. Disappointed in the invoice. They charged a RESORT FEE which I have never heard of. Breakfast was adequate. Room was adequate. For what we paid, I expected more.

Rooms were clean, but slow draining sink and tub. Liked the microwave and small frig in room. Great beach, unfortunately too cool to enjoy. May or may not come back. Make early reservations if staying in peak summer months.

Room Tip: You will pay more for a room looking over Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#17 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.