We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Traverse City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Charles County, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Traverse City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was in town for a convention held at the Grand Traverse resort. Always wanting to be able to "escape" the convention and relax on the off hours, I rarely stay on site. So, I searched and located this hotel online. Prices seem a bit high, but it is in line with the service and standards of the hotel. It's not that physically different than, for example, a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn. But the level of effort of the staff and attention to detail on cleaning, etc makes the difference. The beach is lovely, with watersports rental on site, plenty of places to sit and relax, waterfront balconies to enjoy at night, and great views of the setting sun. Just the right vibe to relax and enjoy time with the family.

I found it to be a bit quiet for my taste...I'm one to sit out on the patio at night with a small music speaker and have drinks - - it was actually too quiet to do this, I felt I'd be disturbing others. I guess being on a lake is VERY quiet compared to an ocean front beach - - where you have the noisy surf as background noise.

All in all a great stay. Nice pool area inside with hot tub. Well maintained property, and staff very friendly and helpful at all points.

Room Tip: go for the lakefront balcony. Makes the trip. Call them directly for help booking as opposed to on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    63
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
60
77
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jellico, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our night here but the price was over the top. We were lake front and had a nice view but the price was almost double the other lake front hotel we stayed at in another Michigan city. not many other rooms available the night we were here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have stayed at the Grand Beach several times and haven't been disappointed. It is very convenient to dining, Pirate's Cove amusements for the kids, Turtle Creek casino for the adults and, most importantly, the BEACH. From our grandkids perspective, staying at the Grand Beach is the perfect vacation. They like the game room, the pool, the waffles for breakfast and making castles in the fine beach sand with their parents. They're happy, we're happy.

As for the physical condition of the properties rooms, the bathrooms have been updated with tile showers and granite counter tops since our last stay. The other room furnishings and decor are somewhat dated, but acceptable. The televisions are not flat screen and the wi-fi is slow but these items aren't critical to our enjoyment.

The staff at the resort are always friendly and helpful. We booked our stay for next year before we left and look forward to another nice vacation with the family.

Room Tip: Our room was 108, a king room with sofa with direct beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an average hotel, but the beach right outside your door more than makes up for anything that is average. Nice staff. Bedding was just so-so. The rooms were clean. Showers were newly updated. No restaurant on site, but there are some great restaurants nearby. Free breakfast was typical of most hotels now. The best I can say is that it's free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Pros:

Like I said, great beach, great location
Indoor pool and whirlpool
Suites available
Non beach views if you want to save some money
Really nice staff
Close to dining, recreation and more
Free breakfast every morning
Nice, beachfront rooms available
Wonderful water pressure in the shower

Cons:

Uncomfortable beds
Cheap, worn linens and pillows
Dated decor
Less than stellar in-room housekeeping

All in all, still a good place and we would stay again. (Mostly for the beach and the great staff).

Room Tip: Beach side was $50 more per night. You need to decide if it's worth it or not. For us, it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel off the internet. We were amazed when we got there at the truly amazing deal we got from Kayak. Walk out the door to the beach. Even if you do not stay in a beach view room, the beach is so close it is amazing. The rooms are super and include a patio. The beach chairs available to all guests made it amazing to just hang out on the beach. We at the complimentary breakfast each day. The pool and the hot tub were great also. We enjoyed the location as we were able to wine taste nearby. Close to the state park, dinning, shopping, and the beach. Everything a girl could want!! Also you can rent kayak's, jet ski, paddle boards and all that stuff right out the back door!! I want to go back with the kids sometime soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at hotel for a girls night- perfect location- can walk to the Red Mesa restaurant from here (which I would totally recommend)! Rooms were clean and pool area was quiet! The beach area is pretty shallow- and a bit chilly for June- but this Canadian girl took a run in anyways!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.