We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value in off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Value in off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel the first weekend in November 2012 because my husband did the Iceman Cometh Mountain Bike race. I originally booked the Hampton but discovered this was $10 cheaper/night (and right on the beach). We had a first floor king room w/ pull out sofa. It had a sliding door leading directly onto the beach, which we knew it would be too cold to take advantage of but the view was great. The room, which I'm assuming gets a lot of family use in the summer, not to mention a lot of sand tracked in, was immaculate!! Awesome newer looking bathroom with the more expensive granite tile -- not the typical hotel bathroom. Newer carpet, comfortable bed. Great continental breakfast - pancakes, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. Attentive staff, seems to be mom/pop owned. The lobby has a fireplace, lots of comfortable seating.

Our room was only $99/night since it was the "off season." The same room is $279 in July, which actually isn't bad for a Traverse City beach hotel. We came home and already booked the same room for next year's race.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    72
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
71
88
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were greeted by a friendly and efficient staff. Our room was very clean and had a giant hot tub. It was too cold for us to enjoy the lake view for a long period of time, but it was a memorable experience for us. We did not have breakfast there since we wanted to eat at a local joint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamtramck, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just recently stayed two nights (friday and Saturday) this weekend September 28-30th. Have to say I booked the hotel on a wim that it would be decent, and it definitely exceeded my expectations. The pictures didn't give the best of what the hotel rooms were going to look like they looked a little outdated online. And they were upgraded, we stayed in a king room, king bed, pull out couch, microwave, mini fridge. The bed was comfy the pillows not so much they were overstuffed and not very comfy. The views from our room was beautiful and the balcony had two chairs and a table which was great to enjoy the view and your morning coffee. Bathroom looked recently redone tile flooring, granite sink. We were a 10 minute drive from downtown, they had a shuttle that left 4 times a night to the casino which was nice. Front desk was very helpful with things to do and places to eat , very nice people. Breakfast was typical continental breakfast! The pool was clean and no one was in it which was great, didn't have to deal with any kids screaming or splashing.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the bay make sure you ask for a bay room because they have rooms with balconys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice location, really close to town and family attractions; like mini golf! The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfy, it had a fridge...all major perks in my book. They served free breakfast, it was basic, but nothing wrong with it taste wise. Great hotel, plan to come back

Room Tip: get the king with spa :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is well located away from downtown but near enough to visit. It is across from a very nice minature golf course. the rooms are basic and the furniture outdated and cramed into the rooms that contain two beds. But the view cannot be replaced and the suger sand beach is great with good grooming and lawn furniture. It is safe for children as you have to walk out to the end of the pier before it starts to get deep. It has a good basic hotel breakfast included and the staff is attentive. The weight room is small and was under repair while we were there.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the extra and get a room facing the lake---well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry island uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

had a lovely stay here, arrived labor day, the weather was gorgeous , we enjoyed the beach and it was really quiet. had a fantastic room, stepped right out of the patio doors onto the beach. rooms are clean and comfotable, breakfast a little basic, but adequate. a lovely hotel, would love to go back

Room Tip: definitely book a beach front room, waking up to the ocean veiw was incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay in September, when the weather was still nice enough to enjoy the beach, but without the crowds of summer. Sugar beach is outstanding. It is well-appointed with lounge chairs and umbrellas, and the staff grooms it nicely every morning. Separate towels are provided, there are nice tables for picnics, and the views are wonderful. My room was not on the beach, but it was still very clean and comfortable, and I enjoyed my private porch. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome with every encounter. I found the pancake-maker entertaining, even if the pancakes weren't top notch. The main downside for me was the traffic. When you exit the parking lot (turn right only), watch out. The cars come around the corner pretty fast, so you have to gun it to avoid a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.