We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoy volunteering as much as being a patron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Theatre

State Theatre
223 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49684
231 947-4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Activities in Traverse City
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I enjoy volunteering as much as being a patron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Love the movies. Enjoy the friends while I volunteer. The popcorn is the freshest. They are always popping a new batch. Selection of films continue to draw me in. Sometimes they last for a couple of weeks, and I can't wait for the next film.

The seats in the remodeled theater are very comfortable, so if you go to the movie a bit sleepy, you may find you've taken a very comfortable nap during the show!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, MI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A step into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Other than the Film Festival which is wonderful, this theater is a fun place to see a $.25 movie or a more expensive one...which is really not expensive. It is like move theaters of the past. It is downtown so walking about or eating before or after the movie, or shopping gives you time to relax and enjoy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The State is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I absolutely love that this theatre has been renovated! It has breathed a new life into TC's downtown. Whenever possible, I try to see films exclusively at the State...the seats are SO comfy, and the volunteers are all so happy to be there :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“TCFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

One of the very nice venues in Traverse City for the Traverse City Film Festival. Nice screen & sound system, & who can resist a starry sky? Nice to see a well-loved, well-used, well-restored, old movie theatre. The front row is a bit too close. The balcony seats have some sight-line issues. Wish the bathrooms were bigger. Lots of nearby restaurants.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful restored!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went to see "A Separation" which was a wonderful foreign film. However much beyond that the place itself it absolutely adorable! Great place to take pictures for memories. It reminded me of old movie place from my childhood that actually had a curtain that pulled back once the movie began and it was all on one level. We have a place in Royal Oak, MI that shows lots of foreign films and it reminded me of that place plus tons more "beauty". Much to my surprise my husband wanted to attend and it was NOT like attending a regular movie based on what was showing and the facility. They do have 25 cent Wednesday and other special promotions. Great place to take in a good movie!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.