We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but fun getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Shepherd, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expensive, but fun getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here overnight for a quick getaway. Long line at check-in, but they moved us through pretty quick. We had chosen to upgrade if available when I reserved online, so we were given a 'wolf den': queen bed with separate bunk bed area for the kids. There was also a pull-out couch, which my 12-year old took advantage of part-way through the night, because the bunk beds were so uncomfortable. The room was nice -- clean with a small fridge. The bathroom was tiny, though. Sink was in a separate area from the shower and toilet. The bedding on the bunk beds consisted of one thin blanket and sheets that would not stay on the bed. My six-year-old ended up sleeping on the bare mattress most of the night. There is also a balcony with chairs -- a nice idea if it didn't look directly out onto the parking lot.

The water park is fun, if fairly typical. It is not Kalahari, with it's many water slides and huge wave pool. But it has the usual activity area with smaller slides and bucket which periodically dumps water; a cute area for little ones with zero entry; hot tub; basketball area; lily pad area; and 3 big tube slides for 1,2,or 3 people. My kids enjoyed it. Older kids might get bored more quickly. In addition there is a Cubs Club with games and crafts, something called MagiQuest, which costs extra and we did not do. In summer, there's a mini golf course, and there's both a spa and a kid spa.
We had breakfast at the restaurant on site. The buffet is good with lots of options including an omelet station. Also a shout-out to the chef, who came out to discuss possibilities with my husband, who had a dairy allergy. They were very accommodating and we appreciated it. Our waitress was great, too.

We enjoyed our stay here. I just think that for what you get, it is on the expensive side. We have been to the Soaring Eagle Water Park in Mt Pleasant, which is almost identical, but quite a bit less expensive. And we stayed at Kalahari for less as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    174
    58
    40
    33
See reviews for
336
3
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times a year for the past 4-5 years. It is consistently excellent. They leave no detail unaccounted for when thinking about kids. Our kids are now 8 and 10 and have absolutely wonderful memories of the GWL. The water park has something for every age group. The restaurants serve quality food at a fair price, and our kids love the breakfast buffet. The arcade, craft area and mini-golf provide lots of things to do if you get tired of the waterpark. The MagiQuest game is fun for everyone, and get the kids physically active running around the resort too! Our kids love story time every evening, getting fresh baked cookies and milk delivered to our room right before bed,

Room Tip: Go at Christmas time - Snowland is amazing and Santa's visit is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

rooms are nice, water park is cool and spa is wonderful! the aveda services are awesome. ask for michelle. also, there is starbucks in the sweet and treat shop. the magic quest/harry potter activity is a little out of place for a lodge though.

Room Tip: wolf den is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We decided to take the kids to another waterpark this year since the last park fell way short of our expectations. Having been to this one already, we knew it would be a great time and we were not at all let down. We went after the spring break rush and saved a fortune so we could enjoy other aspects. We stayed in the Kids Kamp Suite as we wanted to try something different than what we have stayed in previously. The water park was great as always and love how well the lifegaurds are so attentive to make sure that everyone is having a fun/safe time. I would suggest that you take the offer with doing the Jr. Lifegaurd Program as well as it is very informative and shows how much the lifegaurds know and do to keep everyone safe. They are also in the process of renovating so I am looking forward to another trip next year. I would suggest to anyone staying here, that you try to go during the week as it is less expensive and the waterpark is almost completely vacant. We did the week after spring break and there were virtually no one in the water park and it was relatively inexpensive. They also usually have a coupon that helps with cost as well. For the best overall experience and if you saved some money like we did, I would suggest doing the Paw Pass as it gives even more things to do with the kids and is worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good but may suggest an upper floor as then you don't have to listen to kids runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very expensive for what you get. They do not tell you whether it is on line, when booking or if you call the lodge for information before showing up, that the outdoor facility may close be closed "for financial" reasons depending on the day. 82 degrees outside and the outdoor pool is closed. Really? Unless you ask that specific question.. you are not told. Indoor water is green and the cholorine is so heavy your eyes burn without even getting in the water. Bathrooms are small. We had to make two service calls one for the TV in the Kid Cabin (not a cheap room at all) and the toilet that kept over flowing. Finally just left the hotel (with the toilet over flowing).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took my 5 year old and 3 year old here for spring break. Very expensive during spring break! Its 150.00 less now than it was a week ago when we stayed. We stayed in a Wolf Den. Cute set up with bunk beds for the kids nice little balcony. Bring your own pillows though. Sat down on our bed and found a MagiQuest wand under the sheets. Not impressed with that at all. Hotel was completely booked but at night was surprisingly quiet. The waterpark was a blast. My kids loved it. Ate at the restaurant, very nice breakfast and friendly staff. Went to the Scoops salon with my daughter, outrageous prices. Played in the arcade, also spent a lot of money there. Overall it was fun and we will be returning but defiantly not during a holdiay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you can get a good deal to Great Wolf, it is worth your time. Definitely more a place for kids than older teens, though. The water park is nice, but not as big as some of the ones you will find near Cedar Point or the Dells.

If you have kids, just plan on forking over the bucks to buy a wand so they can do the magiquest activity. They will have a blast and you will have some unhappy campers if you don't! It's a long activity they can do throughout your stay, so buy the wands early.

If you are around in the morning, I highly recommend their breakfast buffet. Top notch food and they have an omellette station.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf
Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.