We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails

Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails
P.O. Box 252, Traverse City, MI 49685-0252
231-941-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Biking Trails
Activities: Inline skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: System comprised of four trails for hikers, bikers and in-line skaters: Vasa Pathway, Boardman Trail, Leelanau Trail and the TART Trail.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Take a Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The trail from Traverse City to Suttons Bay is a treat. One can cruise along safely with some shade and lots of country views.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location to our hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are runners, and stayed at Boarders Inn and Suites. We loved that we could access the trail from the hotel without having to drive anywhere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bike, walk, run or skate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been coming to Traverse City for years, and have always loved the TART trail system. From when our kids were in bike attachments to now when they are grown, we love to ride our bikes on the trail. We love to park the car and use the trail to get around. It's recenlty been extended to Suttons Bay for longer rides. The bike stores in town are very helpful and informative if you need any help

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great intermediate ride; Solar System Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We promised my son we would ride the Solar System once he learned to ride his bike. He mastered it at the end of last summer, so we kicked off this summer with a ride on Memorial Day Monday.

The sun, being the center of the universe, is where we started. Parking is available behind the Traverse City Public library. To access it, turn east at the light just south of the library. We are a family of four with a 10 year old son, and 12 year old daughter. Traffic on the trail was moderate with walkers, runners, and bikers out enjoying the beautiful day.

The ride was about 14 miles round trip. We stopped at each planet and read the description provided. Each sign would tell you how many million miles to the next planet. It was great fun riding 864 million miles for example.

The entire journey was paved (with a couple of wooden bridges) and did have some road crossings and railroad crossings. I wish there were a few picnic tables along the way as we had brought a picnic with us. The only ones we found along the ride were at Burger King and the Traverse City State Park. The ones at the state park are associated with camp sites, so they aren’t really available for use. There were several families who pulled off at grassy spots to take a break.

There are a few places to stop for ice cream; Dairy Queen at Pirate’s Cove and Moomer’s is available at East Bay Pizza near the Pluto end of the trail. Also in the East Bay Pizza plaza is a great play structure and some TeePees for kids to visit. There is also a bike shop along the way at Four Mile Rd for any necessary gear or rentals for those who might not have bikes. Beverage stops can be found in a few locations (Red Mesa Grill, a party store whose name I don’t remember) and they have signs on the trail calling out their location.

There were public restrooms at the beginning, but I did not see any others along the way; not even a PortaJohn. I’m sure many of the establishments along the way (Burger King, for example) would allow a bathroom break.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, well maintained trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family biked the trail from Sutton's Bay to Traverse City and had a wonderful time. The trail is well maintained with very slight gradient changes that were not too taxing. The views were enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails to your Saves list