We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay in TC!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Traverse Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Favorite place to stay in TC!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great rooms, close to town, friendly staff, but book in advance if you want to stay during the summer!! Across the street from the beach, but also a pool and hot tub right on site :) For the price, it was totally worth it, to be close enough to town, but far enough away to get some space from the crowds. Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    48
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
82
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved this motel-style rental for its location, cleanliness and spacious unit. This is a small property, so book early for the summer. We had one bedroom plus living room and kitchen for the
same price of one room in another hotel across the street ( that hotel has a beach front and other amenities but pricey). Traverse City is worth a visit, with lots of good and excellent restaurants,
beautiful scenery and lots of microbrewery places to enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: All the units are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cane to Traverse City as we love the northern areas of Michigan. We were not disappointed. Gorgeous room that was clean and spacious. Stag went out of their way to make is feel like family. This stay could not have been better. Closer to summer great dining and some really nice areas within driving distance like Petosky and other quaint cities. Can't wait to return.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was friendly and courteous. I feel that the rooms are extremely overpriced. Location to downtown Traverse City is convenient and the distance is walkable. Location on the Bay is excellent with great views on the beach. Although the hotel has been recently refurbished, rooms are just average. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. A waiter at the bar, Reubon Quijas, stood out because of his exceptional service and courteous demeanor. Over all our stay was pleasant and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and Cozy! Would love to stay here longer. Ardy was courteous, efficient, and a definite PLUS for the hotel! Great memories in Traverse City and this would be our "pick" hotel if we get to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, very, very clean. Pool is clean. Staff is friendly --- with one exception. When we arrived, the woman at the desk didn't look up, didn't greet us....turns out she was on her phone and apparently her shift was up. Luckily, another woman came out and was very welcoming. This trip was my husband and me, there were several families with kids visiting. Great place for kids. Would come back with my grandson!

Room Tip: Location is good, but beach access wasn't great....but we found beaches. A bit away from downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you don't need to be on the beach, this is a great option. We booked with another couple and enjoyed the small shared living space so we could play cards and be together. Good value, clean and beds slept comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traverse Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.