We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, cleans rooms, decent price, allows dogs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Traverse Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Traverse Bay Inn
2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location, cleans rooms, decent price, allows dogs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the first I'm staying at this hotel. We really liked it it let us keep our dogs there the staff was friendly the rooms were clean. All in all it was a great stay. Compared to the other hotels in the city this was a good value and it also was set up sort of like a townhouse or condominium that included a kitchen and a couple of bedrooms it really made you feel at home and not in the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
48
74
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Traverse Bay Inn for 3 nights and overall, we enjoyed our stay. We reserved a two bedroom unit which was perfect for our family of four. Our room was ready when we arrived and check-in was quick and easy. The pool was small but very clean. The on-site laundry facility was a nice amenity since we had been traveling from another destination. The kids loved their upstairs "loft" area. The location of the first floor bedroom, at the rear of the unit, made it impossible to hear the busy traffic on the main road and the forest behind the hotel keep the rooms nice and dark in the morning. The kitchen was well stocked with the basic essentials.

Overall, the housekeeping was good. We thought it a little odd that after coming back to the room on the first full day, the kid's beds upstairs were half-made (the sheet and blanket were pulled up on each bed, but the comforters were left untouched). We thought maybe the housekeeping staff was called to another task while working on our unit and forgot to finish. However, on the second full day, the beds upstairs weren't even touched. Not a big deal....just odd. I brought this to the owner's attention and he was apologetic. The housekeeping staff did wash, dry and put away our dirty breakfast dishes, however.

Like other reviews, we did notice the issue with the carpets. We realized right away that this was residue from the parking lot that is tracked in after my son went out into the parking lot barefooted. His feet where pitch black after walking from our unit to the pool and back. From reading other reviews and the owner's response, it seems the environmentally safe sealer on the parking lot is to blame. It was not a huge deal once we realized that it is NOT from a lack of cleaning. Still, it is a little inconvienent and bothersome to constantly need to wear our flip-flops around our unit to avoid getting the black on our feet. I didn't want the family to wear socks since I wasn't sure if the black residue would wash out easily from white socks. I would recommend that future guests bring a pair of old slippers or dark colored socks to wear around.

Overall, even with the few minor issues, the hotel is a good value for the size of the unit (two bedroom with kitchen) and the on-site amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The bedrooms made it feel like you were at home rather than in a hotel. The beds were quite comfy and the bedroom windows opened onto a quiet and pretty wooded area. The upstairs room was particularly cozy. There were tvs in the main area and each bedroom. Everything was clean both in the rooms and around the grounds. Bicycles were free to use and there is a nice bike trail right behind the hotel. There is also a grill for guest use. The pool was nice and the hot tub, in a little gazebo, was the perfect end to the cool, cloudy day. The hotel is on a busy street but they somehow made the pool and hot tub areas feel secluded. This is really a nice place to stay.

Concerns - The bath was a little small with no counter to place things on but there was plenty of hot water. The kitchen was dated but everything worked. The wifi connection in the room was weak. The main living area was a little small. The couch was big enough to seat 2 (3 small) people and the only other seating was wooden kitchen chairs. Hotel is on a busy street and it was difficult to leave by turning left. Best to turn right, go into Walgreens parking lot and use the stoplight to turn left. None of these things would stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weidman, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all I was with a 10 year old & I believe you checked us in upon maybe an early arrival. My son & I can not tell you how cool we thought the upstairs (above office) rooms were. Clean rooms, comfortable beds & bedding. The bathroom was cute, clean & FULL of soft towels. Liked the lil fold in the t-paper...there was thought put into the room, Loved the ability to open a few windows. My favorite was the low to the floor window!! Nice & warm pool warm hot tub under a gazebo. Liked the amount of flowers & hanging baskets to boot! Tables in pool area with nice umbrellas that were put up early in am. Nice Staff, Loved the cruiser bikes though didn't use this tvisit. This was an important time for my son & myself, this was a perfect addition to our adventure.

Room Tip: Stay above the office! :}
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great place to stay without that hotel feel. Had a kitchenette, which afforded us the ability to make our own breakfasts. Loved the hot tub and pool. Far enough away from the businesses, but close enough to get downtown when you want. Easy access to the bike trail, with their bikes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

By far he best quality. Friendly staff and very clean rooms. The pictures do it no justice at all. Never have I had a room somewhere where I didn't make them out new bedding on while I watched. This place I didn't have to do that! I inspect the bed very well each place I stay and this one passed with flying colors. No stains, no hairs no bed bugs. We will always stay here now.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pool is very nice. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom insanely small. Location is perfect. But once we saw our socks and the bottoms of our bare feet totally black from the carpet, we got a bit grossed out. Also, bring your own hair dryer. Even though they say they provide them, the first one we tried sounded like a fork in a disposal, and the second one we tried smelled like burning parts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for alerting us of your experience. Due to our direct-from-your-car entrances and the fact that you must cross the lot when returning from the pool we are aware there is certainly the potential for "walk off" on the carpet when guests enter the room. We use a special non-oil based environmentally safe parking lot sealer, clean the lot regularly, use walk off mats, rotate the carpet cleaning, rotate carpet replacement, etc. but in your case those things just weren’t enough of a solution and I apologize.

Returning guests to the Traverse Bay Inn hopefully have discovered that we are indeed a small resort where you probably were checked in by the owner (me), handed a real key, parked in front of your room and walked in the door, (you can even open a window when you get in your room!) No excuses but I guess we've discovered a possible trade off to the usual hotel experience of parking in a huge parking lot away from your room and schlepping your bags; through the lobby, down the hall, up the elevator, down another hall and to your room where the electronic key doesn't work!

We want to do the very best for all of you and always want you to know that when you have a problem please do let us know immediately so we can be afforded the opportunity to take care of it for you. Things do come up and we do make mistakes, I know how important your vacation time is and we want to do everything we can not to spoil your time in beautiful Traverse City! Thanks again for the review; I've got to get back to cleaning those carpets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traverse Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.