We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Traverse Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
cscheid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great place. The bedroom was a separate room from the main room and had a real nice little kitchen area which we didn't use as we only stayed one night. The room(s) were very clean and had a very comfortable home atmosphere. Staff at the front desk both on check-in and check-out were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. This winter has been very busy for us so that makes your positive staff comments even more appreciated; thank you very much and I hope we will see you again soon. Looking ahead we're excited as we prepare for our busy summer season. It's always great to see all of our return summer guests and welcome some new faces too! - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
50
77
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for a few days during the week before Labor Day in August 2012. We booked a Jacuizzi Suite for a very reasonable price. The room was clean and comfortable. Honestly, the amenities here can't be beat for the price! We were very comfortable and loved the kitchenette in our room where we could store a few things in the fridge rather than having to use a cooler. We had been traveling around for a few days prior to our stay, so we were also very pleased that there was a coin laundry on-site and we were able to wash some cloths before moving on to our next destination. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We asked about the wine trail and they had maps available for us to take and use, which was great. There is tons of restaurants and things to do nearby. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Traverse Bay Inn for two nights, encompassing our anniversary in mid-October. We read the reviews on T.A. and decided to give it a whirl. We were very pleasantly surprised to find out how lovely this place is - for just $44 per night plus tax we had a two-level accommodation. The top floor had two double beds and wide-screen TV, the bottom floor had a bedroom with king bed, TV and nice sconce lighting, a bathroom, efficiency with fridge, stove, all dinnerware, pans, utensils, kitchen towel, washcloth and dishsoap, paper towel (and even a wine opener! ), living area with couch situated directly across from a wide-screen TV, which was on the wall above the kitchen table that could seat 4. We had a wonderful anniversary watching the Tigers clinch the pennant. Everything was clean as a whistle and very homey --there was even an iron and board in the hall closet! We hope to return every October, and possibly even next month when our California daughter comes in for Christmas (she wants to make sure she sees some snow while she's here in Michigan!).

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the property (nice trees out the back window) - I believe it was 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Traverse Bay Inn is a great place to stay. We have stayed twice and will certainly be back again. The rooms are spaceous. The beds are comfortable. The staff is awesome. The rooms are always very clean. It is like a home away from home. I also appreciate the nice little fully stocked kitchen area. Great for a quick meal or just to warm up leftovers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Chose this place based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Didn't disappoint. Unique room set up (2 full beds upstairs, 1 queen downstairs) gave privacy. Kitchen was an excellent extra, and saved us from having to live out of coolers and eat out/go to the store constantly. It had everything we needed: papertowel, dishcloth, dish towel, cups, plates, etc. Maybe a wine opener would be a future suggestion? Otherwise, all came in handy, and was in good condition!)

Some (but not all) of the fixtures and decorations were a bit dated, but for all that was available to us while staying there, it was well worth it. The bathroom was quite small, but comfortably appointed. All of the bedding (bed spreads were modern and comfy!) and linens were clean and comfortable (even better, the bedding smelled clean and crisp!). The beds were very comfortable, which was a great surprise! I slept great! Closet space was plentiful. 3 full closets throughout the unit.

For those who are sensitive to sound, you do hear a little bit of traffic from the busy street that it sits on, but nothing major or anything that should keep you awake. I'd assume that in the summer, with the air on, you wouldn't hear it at all.

Grounds were well kept and appealing, and parking right in front of your room was nice.

As a suggestion to the management: I don't think that your website does you justice. Many of the pictures you have promoting you look very dated (the people, the clothes, the decor, the woman sitting by the jacuzzi tub, bikers, etc.). Honestly, if it weren't for the reviews I found here, I'd be skeptical. Maybe that's just me, because I'm a visual person, but I wouldn't think that it would take much to get some updated shots of guests. :)

The man I spoke to on the phone when I made my reservation was very pleasant and helpful. The woman I spoke to again another time on the phone, and probably again at check in, wasn't the most pleasant person. Not outright rude or anything, but not very welcoming - rather short and seemed annoyed to be answering my questions.

I'd love to stay here again. I'm not a super-fussy person, but I do enjoy a clean, and comfortable room. I wasn't looking to stay at a super-fancy place, but then again, I didn't want to stay in a trashy/dirty place either. This is definitely on the nicer, yet affordable end of rooms in TC. I will stay again, and hopefully for longer next time!

I think this would be a great place for families, extended stay, multiple couples getting away for the weekend, and ladies weekends. Check it out! It's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your nice comments, observations, and suggestions! We're coming into our slower season so as per usual we have lots of new things planned for the rooms and grounds. We do projects and renews every year and thanks to our loyal return and new guests like you we have had another great summer which equates to a full to-do list again this year. Hope to see you again sometime soon and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Traverse City at the Traverse Bay Inn. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed only one night with my elderly parents. Stayed in room 108. upstairs king with jacuzzi tub and down stairs queen. Small but nice bath on the ground floor along with a small living area and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the unit was very clean. It was a very good value and will will diffenetly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been staying at TBI for the last few years. We love having the extra space instead of just a regular hotel room. Our dog has traveled extensively, but loves this place and the staff love her. The room are always spotless, beds are very comfortable, always extra pillows and towels. The grounds well cared for and we like the idea not having to go through a lobby with the dog.
Especially like the idea of more than one television set since not everyone wants to watch the same things. A big thanks also to the staff for being very friendly and helpful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traverse Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.