We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Traverse Bay Inn to your Saves list
Traverse Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

At $39 a night, I admittedly had my doubts despite the high Tripadvisor ratings. I booked a studio with kitchenette for a two night stay. I had requested an early check-in because of my early morning flight schedule. My stay at TBI was excellent. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and well maintained with a well equipped kitchen. The upstairs unit did have the narrow stairway and there was the traffic noise as well as from neighboring rooms. My room had a BIG squeek in the middle of the room and I was embarrased for my neighbors. Nonetheless, an excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Your comments are much appreciated. I'm always glad to hear positive remarks about our staff as they truly are great and deserve the recognition for sure. We've been driving ourselves crazy though trying to find that squeak! If you see this and don't mind please do give me a call or email so we can track down the problem(s). Thanks as always for staying at the Traverse Bay Inn and please do think of us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    55
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
55
90
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked this place based on trip advisor reviews. They were not wrong! Lovely place to stay...just like a small apartment! The price was amazing!!! Although we ate out all weekend, it was nice to know if we wanted to cook and make our own meals, everything was there to do it with! The bed was just like home also...very comfy! And, we had our small dog with us, and they are pet friendly...so, we were very pleased! Not one complaint...except we couldn't stay longer :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here (after consulting Trip Advisor) during a spur of the moment trip to Traverse City and were not disappointed. We really appreciated the friendly, personal service. The place is spotless and the beds are comfortable. We highly recommend this place.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice and loved it. We have had the Fireplace Suite and the Jacuzzi Suite. Both suites were perfectly spotless. We also had our little dog. The beds and linens are the best that I have ever run across in all my stays at other high end hotels. The staff is wonderful and would highly recommend staying here. It is extremely quiet even with other guests staying nextdoor. We never heard anyone. The kitchens are fully equipped and again spotless. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks so much, Dottie! We've had a lot of positive comments like yours since we have completed the upgrading of all of our bathrooms. I think the new fixtures, sinks, shelves, eetc. have really given the rooms a nice fresh look and it makes things so much easier for our housekeeping staff as well; we have a few more things planned for late spring too. We all appreciate how well you care for your dog while visiting the Traverse Bay Inn and I think you would agree the Fireplace Suite is great for pets as well as people! See you again soon I hope. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice little place to stay and you can have your dog. We had a one bedroom with a kitchenette. Everything was very clean and we had all the kitchen utinsels needed to prepare a little breakfast in the morning before we left. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. This is our 3rd time staying and we will definetely stay with them again. What a pleasure to have a nice place to stay that doesn't break the bank. So appreciated!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We came to Traverse City for a family get-together and stayed for the night. Check in was easy and manager was very friendly. Our room had 2 bedrooms - a queen size downstairs and a king size with a jacuzzi upstairs. The room had a kitchenette with dishes, pans, coffee maker, paper towel, etc. The main area had a couch, table and chairs, and tv.

It was an excellent value, especially with the winter rate. The bed was really comfortable - we slept great. The only thing I noticed is that the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. Other than that - everything was perfect. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starchild101
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Very pleased with our stay at the Traverse Bay Inn. We had the 2 bedroom suite (which is all that was availble) and it was like staying in a small apartment. (and it was still VERY reasonably priced!)

Our room had an upstairs loft that had 2 beds and television. Lower level had a quaint living room area with couch, kitchen table a small kitchenette and flat screen tv. Also on the lower level there was a second bedroom with yet another tv. How awesome is that, 3 tvs in your room! There was lots of closet space, I think there were 3 closests. Beds were comfey, and I believe between the 3 beds we had 9 to 10 fluffy pillows! Room also had iron, ironing board, hair dryer, and a coffee maker with a couple of coffee packets.

Only negative was the small bathroom, but really how much time do you spend in the bathroom. Water pressure in the shower was good. TIP: others have mentioned no counter space in the bathroom for their toilettrees. However, check the mirror, it opens up with shelving for all of your stuff.

Will be back here next time we are in Traverse City. Great bargin, good location and friendly staff to boot! Wish we would have stayed here sooner! Like the sign says out front, FUN!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traverse Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.