We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Traverse Bay Inn to your Saves list
Traverse Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Plainwell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel for reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed Sunday night 11/13/11 and found this motel to be very clean, great value for the price, especially in off season. Our ground floor room had a furnished kitchenette with fridge, stove, microwave and small dinette, flat screen tv and love seat. Down a connecting hallway was a very clean small full bath and a separate room with a comfortable queen size bed with more than ample closet/storage space. TV in bedroom. This unit could easily be used for long term stay.
On arrival, the office was empty; a phone on the counter would connect to office personel. Check in was quick. Be aware that off season there will not be 24 hour front desk staffing but you will be able to call someone for emergencies. This is not uncommon for small hotels in resort communities in this area.
Check out was easy, just leaving the keys at the front desk.
One con: traffic noise was noticeable beginning at 4:30am. Maybe all those hunters setting out for start of deer season.
I would highly recommend staying at Traverse Bay Inn.

Room Tip: Select room toward back to get away from the road noise. Otherwise, this was a great stay at a barga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    50
    7
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
85
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Over the years we've stayed in several different motels in the Traverse City/Interlochen area for concerts at the Interlochen Music Camp, but once we found the Traverse Bay Inn, we have not gone anywhere else. It is a very comfortable, clean, quiet (we never did hear our neighbors next door) and affordable place to stay, especially with the off season prices!!

The staff is also very friendly and approachable, which we really appreciated!. Having a well stocked kitchenette, and living room area is a real bonus, and for those traveling with children, no doubt they will love the upstairs bedroom that is available!

Thanks so much for the very restful, pleasant visit we had last week! If you weren't booked up full for last Friday night, we'd have gladly stayed another night.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room as far from the street as possible, if it's available...it helps to cut down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
And thank you for the review! It's great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us in Traverse City. I wish we could have accommodated you on the Friday Night. (Sometimes another day in TC is hard to resist, I know) We can be busy at times that you might not expect due to events, festivals, and lots of great return guests like yourselves. Best regards and we’ll see you next time at the Traverse Bay Inn! - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston County, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I were attending a wedding reception at the Park Place Hotel and as luck would have it, they were full. Lucky for us. TripAdvisor was not wrong about Traverse Bay Inn. Clean, affordable, accomodating and very unexpected. Thanks to all the previous comments. Right on the money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

SUMMARY:

Pros:
-Accommodating staff
-Comfortable bed
-Good shower water pressure
-Clean and basic, but great value

Cons:
-Hot tub turned off for season (during 1st week of October). Hot tub should be available year round (or at least into October, when the weather is perfect for it).
-No counter space in bathroom

...AND FOR THE FULL STORY:
Our family stayed in 3 separate rooms at the Traverse Bay Inn in early October while in Traverse City for a wedding. We arrived early and requested early check-in so that we could get ready for the wedding, and the staff was incredibly accommodating -- all 3 rooms were ready by 1pm even though check-in is technically 3pm. The rooms are not fancy by any means, but they are clean and provide all the basics, and even a couple bonuses like the kitchenette with fridge, microwave and utensils. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom shower had great water pressure; my only criticism of the bathroom is that there was literally no counter space whatsoever. The staff was again wonderful when we requested that they arrange for a cab to arrive early in the morning to bring us to the airport -- the cab driver arrived promptly and even knew our room number to knock and let us know he was there. Overall, this is a great basic place to stay when traveling on a budget. The only thing that would have improved our experience significantly would have been if the hot tub was on. It had been turned off for the season (by the 1st week of October!). Major bonus points would be earned if the hot tub was available year round.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hart, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Upon arrival I was immediately impressed by the cleanliness and roominess of my accommodations. The fact that I had a kitchenette was an added bonus, although I only made the free coffee provided. The bed was comfortable just a little too firm for my taste but I adjusted. I rarely heard the people next to me which was a plus. I could hear the traffic at times but it was mostly quiet through the night. The sofa they provided was not too comfortable but it served its purpose. If anyone asks me I will highly recommend this place, very affordable and at a great location. I will certainly stay here if I ever go back to Traverse City...The staff was very helpful also...Thanks

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Traverse city has become our fall get away for the beautiful colors. Traverse Bay Inn is the best place to stay. Clean, spacious rooms with an amazing price during the off season. We've been impressed each time we've gone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We visited with our 9 month old son and were impressed by how much space there was - we could have slept 6 adults in the three beds! It was nice for our son to have his own space and we were still able to hang out and watch TV without disturbing him. The room was very clean and there was everything we needed in it, including dishes. The room had a little bit of a musty smell, but other than that we were very impressed. The weather wasn't very good so we couldn't spend time biking or at the pool, but the location was convenient to all of the attractions we went to. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traverse Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.