We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Shore Inn, Traverse City - Great Place, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Inn
Save
You added North Shore Inn to your Saves list
2305 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Holt, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“North Shore Inn, Traverse City - Great Place, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We found the North Shore Inn on the VRBO site, but it is also listed as a hotel elsewhere. We made our reservations by calling the Inn directly. We rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo for 4 nights for about the same price as a regular hotel room in the area. (There are also 1 bedroom 1 bath, 2 bedroom 1 bath.) Very clean, comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor (yes, there was an elevator) which contained a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom and full bath. The stairs inside the unit led to the 4th floor to a huge bedroom and a large full bath. This Inn is on East Bay, had a very nice sandy beach, a large grassy area, a deck with tables and umbrellas, and an outdoor heated pool. My daughter, grandson and I fully enjoyed the North Shore Inn and will definitely stay there when in the Traverse City area again. Also check out the Traverse City Commons, which is located on the grounds of the completely renovated former State Hospital. Shops, food, bakery, wine-tasting and more.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a patio opening to the grass and beach. All others have balconies. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at the North Shore Inn room 104 for years and just love the place They have just remodeled our favorite room We admire all the changes... it is so up to date clean and so cozy. They think of everything to make your stay as comfortable as staying at a good friend's home. The're are 2 cozy throws in a big basket if you are feeling a little chilly.Looking out at the bay is so peaceful. The brand new deck is beautiful big and perfect for having a drink, snack or even lunch or dinner. We love the fact that you feel as if you are far away sitting on the bay side yet you are close to great restaurants stores and many attractions...Thank you North Shore for another wonderful getaway.....already booked a weekend in October to enjoy the fall colors

Room Tip: We love the first floor and have seen 2nd and third floor rooms they are all recently updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your kind review! I'm so happy to hear you've found the perfect room that works for you! The North Shore Inn is always working hard to keep things as clean and up to date as possible so I'm happy you noticed your room was remodeled and the new sundeck area! Looking forward to seeing you in October!
Thank you,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
P: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a week booked at a friends condo at the grand traverse resort but couldn't check in until Sunday...rather than waste the weekend we decided to stay somewhere else for Saturday and this place had a two bedroom two bath available. This place ended up better than the resort! It has a private beach area with perfectly groomed sand and lots of lounge chairs. There is a volleyball net also. The outdoor pool area was very clean and lots of chairs. We were on the third floor which has one bedroom on main floor and a second bedroom upstairs and a balcony off both floors! Main room tv plus tvs in both bedrooms(super small tv in main floor bedroom). Lots of closet space. Rooms were clean, parking was easy, and the staff was exceptional! The floors were a little creaky and the eating area in the main room is a little tight. Would totally recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stay on bottom floor if you want ducks walking past your patio or third floor for multiple balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review! I am pleased to hear you were able to stay in one of our condos during your trip to Traverse City! We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and property so we always like to hear peoples kind words. Hope to see you again on any future trips to Traverse City! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Thank you,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
P: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at North Shore Inn, and what an amazing place to stay!! The staff is SO helpful, the Condo's are very well kept and clean, the beach and pool are great. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during my vacation! I am very surprise that there were any negative reviews, I couldn't find one thing here to complain about! I have already booked for a stay in 2014, and will be returning for many summers too come!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello!
Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with the North Shore Inn. I am also very happy to hear the staff was able to help you and keep your room is tip top condition! We look forward to seeing you in 2014. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Thank you,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
P: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at North Shore Inn several times, and continue to be impressed with the facility, beach and staff! It feels like home away from home with all the amenities. Great for families with kids, couples, or a group of friends. There are so many Fabulous restaurants we want To try that we can't fit them all in! Already booked a weekend in the fall to enjoy the autumn Colors and wineries! Thank you North Shore Inn for another perfect vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review! We are so happy to hear you keep coming back to the North Shore Inn during your visits to Traverse City. We do have so many amazing local restaurants I can see how you would have a hard time choosing! One of my favorite casual spots at the moment is the Blue Tractor :) We look forward to seeing you in the fall! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Thank you,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
P: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice 2 bed/2 bath condo. Friendly staff and housekeeping. New, white, fluffy towels in both baths (one small with shower, upstairs bath big). Had a third floor unit so views were great. The beach is beautiful and kept very nice. Parking is very tight as the place was full over the long weekend. Our third couple had their RV and stayed in the Traverse City Camp Ground about a mile down the road so going back and forth was close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time to write a review! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with the North Shore Inn. The views from the 3rd floor balconies are spectacular. We hope to see you again on any future trips you take to the Traverse City area.
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
P: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. We like to get the condo's on the third floor that have an upstairs bedroom. We have been there a few times and we enjoyed our stay every time. We like to use the kitchen and cook meals. The kitchens are very nice and have pretty much everything that you need. You may want to bring a cork puller though. Sometimes they don't have them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Brad we are glad you enjoyed your stay with North Shore Inn again. We do have wine openers in all of our rooms. If they are not in a room we always have them in the office. Although some guests do tend to take them as souvenirs :) We hope to see you on your next trip to beautiful Traverse City Michigan.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Inn

Address: 2305 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Shore Inn is a charming New England style condominium hotel on Grand Traverse Bay. With a picturesque beachfront setting with private sandy beach, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, and 26 spacious luxury 1 and 2 bedroom units with completely equipped kitchens and sleeping up to 5 people, the North Shore Inn offers a perfect setting to enjoy the four-season beauty of the Grand Traverse region. The hotel enjoys a great central location convenient to dining, shopping, golf, snowmobiling, skiing, two nearby gambling casinos and numerous award-winning wineries. In the off season, reduced weekend and mid-week packages are featured, as well as Auto Club, AARP discounts.(offered November- April) Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.