We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Inn
2305 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were so happy with our stay. We were traveling with a 10 month old baby and having a condo with a full kitchen, living room and separate bedroom was perfect. Even better was the view from our balcony, which was great once the baby was in bed and we could relax and just watch the bay. The hotel is in the tourist strip, but it really doesn't feel like it.

We found everything to be clean and tidy and even though the condo wasn't huge it didn't feel cramped. The only negatives (which were far outweighed by the rest of our experience) were that we found the wifi signal was too weak to be usable in our room and the hide-a-bed would not have been very comfortable for two people (it was ok for one because you could sleep sideways and avoid the bars).

Room Tip: Every room has a balcony facing the lake, so I'm not sure you can really go wrong. We were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was exactly what we needed. Great for us because this was our first trip with our little one. Full kitchen with dishwasher. Bedroom is totally separate from living space. Great view of the lake. Would definitely recommend for anyone traveling with children. Putt ploses old close as well as driving distance to several parks and great restaurants for families.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I booked a room over the Memorial Day weekend. This resort is advertised as nonsmoking and the paperwork that is given to guests upon check-in also clearly states there is no smoking in any unit. The minute we opened the door to our room we were hit in the face with the very strong and distinct smell of cigarettes. All the windows in the condo had been left open by the cleaning staff (and now we know why). We called the office and were told to just leave the windows open. They were, obviously, not concerned with our comfort. The carpet and all upholstered furniture reeked of smoke. We are inveterate nonsmokers so this smell was extremely offensive to us. When we unpacked at home all the clothes in our suitcase stunk of smoke. The condo itself was nicely decorated but minor maintenance had not been attended to. There were lights out in the kitchen, the kitchen clock was not working, and you could not set the time on the bedroom bedside clock. The location is great, right on the water. Plenty of lounge chairs for guest use. Unfortunately, if this resort is not going to uphold its nonsmoking policy I would hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor because if you stay on the lower floors you hear the guests above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath unit (302), and it was fantastic! The unit was very clean and really nice, with two levels and two balconies overlooking the beautiful beach and Lake Michigan. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything a vacationer could possibly need. The first floor bathroom was a bit small as other guests have mentioned, but the second floor bathroom was spacious with a bathtub and shower. The staff couldn't have been better - kind and a lot of great suggestions of things to do in the area. We booked a return visit for this summer with our family in the same unit - it will easily and comfortabley sleep 6. Can't wait! We will always stay at North Shore Inn #302! Thank you for a perfect weekend away.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay enough to book a return summer visit! Customer service is very important to us here at the North Shore Inn so I'm very pleased to here our front desk staff was able to kindly assist you with your vacation questions. We look forward to seeing you this summer!
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
P: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My brother lives in Traverse City and the whole family makes an annual visit during the summer. We always stay at the North Shore Inn because of its location. The condos are very nice, nothing to flash but it doesn't matter because we spend most of our time at the beach, in the water, in the pool or out and about in the area. We have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It's also a great place to stay outside of the summer months when things are a little more quiet there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review!! We are all counting down the days to summer here! I'm so happy you and your family chose to stay with us every summer! We always love to see the familiar faces! Looking forward to seeing you in the sunshine :)
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
Phone: (800) 968-2365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My dad rents here for the winter season and my girlfriends and I came up for a weekend getaway. It was great! The North Shores Inn is a really nice place to stay. It was clean and quite. The casino bus came and picked us up and drop us off, although I would suggest taking a cab to the casino and the bus back. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We are happy to hear that your recent trip to North Shore Inn was "awesome" we take pride in our guests enjoying their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You
LaBonte Management
North Shore Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We recently stayed here with some friends for New Year's and had two, 2 bedroom condos. Our friend's condo was very nice and had no problems at all. On the other hand, our condo had no toilet paper or soap in one bathroom and the toilet did not flush well. Also, both the TV's were the old tube type and got one fuzzy channel each. Then, we lost power (half the units lost power) and when we complained to management their response was "it was caused by a car accident down the street and wasn't their fault". Since it was cold and a severe winter storm was on it's way, they let us check one day early and we were only charged the $25 cleaning fee. I guess this was to pay for the soap and TP :-)

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean6484, Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank You for your review to trip advisor. We do apologize for your inconvience of the power outage on January 1st due to a transformer being struck along East Bay due to the winter storms Traverse City was experiencing. Unfortunately when something like this happens we along with other businesses have to wait for the problem to be resolved by our local utility company. Which in this case was resolved by our local utility company within a couple of hours. As for no toliet paper nor soaps in your unit. Daily maid service is given to all guests and our staff is here to make sure if there is anything needed we are always here to provide any supplies needed in your unit. We also have a policy for no refunds for unused stays. Under the circumstances when you requested to leave late in the afternnoon a day early management did honor your request. We at the North Shore inn hope you will come stay with us again.

Thank You
North Shore Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Inn

Address: 2305 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Shore Inn is a charming New England style condominium hotel on Grand Traverse Bay. With a picturesque beachfront setting with private sandy beach, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, and 26 spacious luxury 1 and 2 bedroom units with completely equipped kitchens and sleeping up to 5 people, the North Shore Inn offers a perfect setting to enjoy the four-season beauty of the Grand Traverse region. The hotel enjoys a great central location convenient to dining, shopping, golf, snowmobiling, skiing, two nearby gambling casinos and numerous award-winning wineries. In the off season, reduced weekend and mid-week packages are featured, as well as Auto Club, AARP discounts.(offered November- April) Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Shore Inn to your Saves list