We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite average, especially for the price paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City to your Saves list
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Quite average, especially for the price paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in town for the Bayshore Marathon, so we were only spending one night here. We probably would not have stayed here for 2 nights.

The room was fairly clean, but the chair had several large stains on it, not sure what they were! Also the outside screen to our window fell out, so we couldn't really keep our window open for the spring breeze. We told the front desk about it, but nothing was ever done.

If you are not a dog person, do not stay here! We love animals, but the overwhelming smell of dogs would probably drive someone to rebook elsewhere. Upon opening the door from our room to the hallway, you definitely could smell it.

Positives - hot shower and a late checkout, due to the marathon that morning.

For $150+tax, I would expect just a bit more cleanliness. I realize it was Bayshore weekend and Memorial Day weekend, but all I ask for is a clean and safe room. No extra amenities needed. I would rate this more of a 2.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here a few years back. It was originally a Super 8 but it's now a Borders which is a definite upgrade. The rooms are still small but their are updated and clean.
During our stay the road was undergoing major construction so we got an awesome price. They have the usual free breakfast but because of the small area, seating and selections are limited. That being said - we still didn't leave hungry - lol. There are also several restaurants within walking distance along with some family activities.

Room Tip: As with most hotels, selecting a room away from the highway and on the top floor will be the most qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room itself was comfortable and clean enough.
The hotel calls itself 'pet-friendly' yet you must stay with your pet the entire time, which it does not advertise on the website. You must sign something saying you agree at check in, this needs to be on their website. Who goes on vacation and wants to stay in the room the entire time? I am sure that they have had issues with loud dogs but deal with those situations one on one, do not assume every dog will be like that.
Windows were disgustingly dirty, could not even see out. Our room did have a view of the lake, not that I could see it out the window.
The bed was comfortable enough and the TV channel selections were nice.
The website claims the entire hotel has recently been renovated, I am glad I never saw it before.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. Would you mind letting me know what website you booked through? We do try to make sure that all guests traveling with pets make advance arrangements with the hotel before arrival. At that time we do inform guests of our pet policies. If the request for advanced arrangements wasn't conveyed through the site you booked with I would like to make the necessary updates to that site.

I apologize for the dirty windows. The dust from the road construction has been wreaking havoc on the exterior of our windows. I had window cleaning scheduled last week but that had to be postponed due to rain.

We do value your feedback and hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The site mentions it was newly remodeled, however everything from the front desk to our room was anything but new. We had a chair in our room was stained and gross. The television was placed on a wall so that the only way to watch it was to sit on the floor at the foot of the bed. The only ice machine was on the second floor (we were on the first).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback - we will use it to help make our property better!

We do have an ice machine on first floor right next to our Pepsi and snack vending machines. We added it in January of 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We booked two rooms. They were both clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but was good for the money charged. The rates were great. Breakfast was nothing special but was more than expected. There was nothing wrong with it at all. Friendly staff and quick check in.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us during your time in Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The Hotel Staff were very rude, and disrespectful to my husband!!! I walked through the lobby to take my puppy out and the cleaning assistant said she wanted to ding my car because the exhaust was too loud. I alreted my husband to this. We left shortly after to go to the mall which pets aren't allowed, we left our puppy in his crate at the "pet-friendly" hotel. After demanding us to come back to get our puppy because he was whining and disturbing other guests (he was asleep when we returned to get him), my boyfriend tried to talk to the "management" to insure that nothing was going to happen to his car due to the previous comment from the cleaning assistant, the management suggested us to check out of our room after having paid in advance. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel any time in the future until they get people that appreciate their jobs a little more and know how to show hospitality. Very, very displeased with this Hotel And will NEVER stay here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to make sure that all of our guests are happy and comfortable in their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

A great value, great room, very nice, clean, good amenities. would stay here again totally! We were quite pleasantly surprised at the value and niceness of the place! Front desk was friendly. Didn't make breakfast though, as it went from 6-9am, but otherwise it was super nice!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

Address: 1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City MI hotel is conveniently located near Cherry Capital Airport on Highway 31 N. Located in northern Michigan; Traverse City is right across from Grand Traverse Bay and many outdoor activities like swimming, fishing, hiking and more. When you book a room at our pet-friendly Traverse City hotel, you can look forward to free amenities including continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking for any sized vehicle you arrive in. We also offer 24-hour front desk service, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms, as well as whirlpool or fireplace suites. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Whether you want to spend the day outside on the bay, enjoy breathtaking views, or browsing charming small-town shops, our Traverse City hotel location delivers. Fish or cruise the waters of Grand Traverse Bay, or relax with a stack of magazines on beaches like Traverse City State Park. With the waterfront in view, check out the exhibits at Grand Traverse Lighthouse, or hike or bike Traverse Area Recreational Trail. During the winter, go snowmobiling on Boardman Valley Trail. If you love to shop, explore unique shops on Front Street in downtown Traverse City or the 100-plus stores in Grand Traverse Mall. If you would rather tee off, get in a game of golf at Mitchell Creek Golf Course. You will find plenty of restaurants near our Traverse City, MI, hotel. Find casual dining at Fire Fly, or try pub food and pints at Mackinaw Brewing Company, both in downtown Traverse City. Get a quick bite of Chinese food at Golden Chopsticks or, if you have a taste for Italian, go to Trattoria Stella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Super Eight Traverse City
Traverse City Super 8
Traverse City Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.