We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City to your Saves list
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked two rooms. They were both clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but was good for the money charged. The rates were great. Breakfast was nothing special but was more than expected. There was nothing wrong with it at all. Friendly staff and quick check in.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The Hotel Staff were very rude, and disrespectful to my husband!!! I walked through the lobby to take my puppy out and the cleaning assistant said she wanted to ding my car because the exhaust was too loud. I alreted my husband to this. We left shortly after to go to the mall which pets aren't allowed, we left our puppy in his crate at the "pet-friendly" hotel. After demanding us to come back to get our puppy because he was whining and disturbing other guests (he was asleep when we returned to get him), my boyfriend tried to talk to the "management" to insure that nothing was going to happen to his car due to the previous comment from the cleaning assistant, the management suggested us to check out of our room after having paid in advance. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel any time in the future until they get people that appreciate their jobs a little more and know how to show hospitality. Very, very displeased with this Hotel And will NEVER stay here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great value, great room, very nice, clean, good amenities. would stay here again totally! We were quite pleasantly surprised at the value and niceness of the place! Front desk was friendly. Didn't make breakfast though, as it went from 6-9am, but otherwise it was super nice!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I rented the room with the jacuzzi tub. It was spotless. The bed was so awesome. It has the nicest pillow top I have seen since the Hyatt on the River in lower Michigan. The breakfast was wonderful as well. There is no pool, and the elevator must be waiting for its renovation, but the room was wonderful. The staff were the best I have ever had at a motel. I cannot wait to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed at this motel for one night. The front desk staff woman was incredibly rude and was threatening to call the police due to us being 1 hour past check out time. Very rude way to end our stay. Plus, there was hair in the jacuzzi tub and the tub in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
08niejac-

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do try to accommodate late check out requests to the best of our availability. I am sorry you feel the situation with your stay was handled inappropriately - please feel free to contact me to address your concerns in greater detail.

Thank you-
Cindy R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The title says it all. If you are looking for a boutique hotel with all the pampering and amenities, then keep looking. If you are looking for a clean room with a clean, comfortable bed-then this motel will fit the bill. Traverse City can be pricey and many inexperienced visitors have unrealistic ideas of price vs. value. This motel is not the top of the line, upscale property and it is not priced as such either. However, the staff is friendly and the amenities basic. I would stay here again when I have business in the area and just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This hotel was one of the only places with rooms left. The room was in need of updating, it was clean enough but other hotels provide much nicer rooms for the same price. Pet friendly came with an additional charge and did not allow pet to stay in room while we went to dinner. Had it not been so busy in the area I would have picked another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

Address: 1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City MI hotel is conveniently located near Cherry Capital Airport on Highway 31 N. Located in northern Michigan; Traverse City is right across from Grand Traverse Bay and many outdoor activities like swimming, fishing, hiking and more. When you book a room at our pet-friendly Traverse City hotel, you can look forward to free amenities including continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking for any sized vehicle you arrive in. We also offer 24-hour front desk service, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms, as well as whirlpool or fireplace suites. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Whether you want to spend the day outside on the bay, enjoy breathtaking views, or browsing charming small-town shops, our Traverse City hotel location delivers. Fish or cruise the waters of Grand Traverse Bay, or relax with a stack of magazines on beaches like Traverse City State Park. With the waterfront in view, check out the exhibits at Grand Traverse Lighthouse, or hike or bike Traverse Area Recreational Trail. During the winter, go snowmobiling on Boardman Valley Trail. If you love to shop, explore unique shops on Front Street in downtown Traverse City or the 100-plus stores in Grand Traverse Mall. If you would rather tee off, get in a game of golf at Mitchell Creek Golf Course. You will find plenty of restaurants near our Traverse City, MI, hotel. Find casual dining at Fire Fly, or try pub food and pints at Mackinaw Brewing Company, both in downtown Traverse City. Get a quick bite of Chinese food at Golden Chopsticks or, if you have a taste for Italian, go to Trattoria Stella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Super Eight Traverse City
Traverse City Super Eight
Traverse City Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.