We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City to your Saves list
Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Filthy and disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed there on Oct 11, 2014. Halls are filthy. Bathroom tub was grungy. Room was subpar. Never took my socks off, not even to sleep.
Will never stay there again and would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I usually wouldn't stay at this off brand hotel but I read online that this was hotel was remodeled and updated in 2013. If that is true, it has really been beat up in the last year. Very dingy overall. Our shower was so filthy with visible mold that we had to wear flip flops! The breakfast was just a couple of muffins, bread, waffles and those disgusting prepackaged hard boiled eggs. The rate was the cheapest non motel rate in town. I guess you get what you pay for. I would not stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend you stay elsewhere if you are used to standards of Hiltons, Marriotts, etc.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights this past weekend and it was to my surprise, better than anticipated. I was really only looking for a place to hang out and sleep in. Most of the day, we weren't in our room. Everything seemed very clean and put together. I would stay again. We did utilize the free wifi but did not use the complimentary breakfast. There was always people down there though. If you are looking for a nice place to sleep.. this is your place! My only one complaint that is why I rated 4 stars.. is we were in room 201 and it is right up against the road and we heard traffic noise all night--not awful but enough that it was noticeable.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Most of our regular fav hotels were all booked for our weekend wine tour getaway so we booked this one.
Pros- large jacuzzi suite, gas fireplace, comfy bed, plenty of towels in room for tub and shower, room decently clean, large windows that actually opened!
Cons- TV not adjustable (only faced the couch and tub, not the bed), loud bachelorette party in hall at all hours, dated bathtub in shower and no counter space.
Would probably stay here again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed at Boarders Inn and Suites on a fall weekend, mostly because it was the only hotel we could find under $200 with a vacancy. We were pleasantly surprised to find it neat and clean, with a nice complimentary continental breakfast.

I'm glad I didn't see the reviews calling this place filthy before I stayed there. "Filthy" wasn't at all our experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brutus, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I stayed at this motel in July and was very disappointed. I took a wet paper towel and ran it across the baseboard in the bathroom and was very disgusted at the amount of dirt that was there. Since this was plainly visible, I wonder what was filthy that wasn't visible. I even found a bobby pin behind the table between the beds. There was also no microwave or refrigerator in the room. The elevator carpeting was very filthy. Not a happy guest.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

At press time, Boarders is 28th out of 38 in TC which seems low. I didn't experience any cigarette or pot smoke, or Hooters noise. And I can't comment on breakfast since I prefer outside breakfasts. The room was clean and the service was efficient.

As a caffeine addict, I appreciate the brief walk to Crow About It. And as a beef jerky fan I also like the proximity to Bayside Market. The state park beach is a long walk or a short drive from here. While the downtown hotels have the ideal location, they are very expensive. The East Bay hotels like Boarders are appealing since they at least have a water-and-trees vibe, whereas the similarly priced Route 31 hotels are nestled in any-suburb USA.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City

Address: 1870 N. US Hwy 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City MI hotel is conveniently located near Cherry Capital Airport on Highway 31 N. Located in northern Michigan; Traverse City is right across from Grand Traverse Bay and many outdoor activities like swimming, fishing, hiking and more. When you book a room at our pet-friendly Traverse City hotel, you can look forward to free amenities including continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking for any sized vehicle you arrive in. We also offer 24-hour front desk service, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms, as well as whirlpool or fireplace suites. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Whether you want to spend the day outside on the bay, enjoy breathtaking views, or browsing charming small-town shops, our Traverse City hotel location delivers. Fish or cruise the waters of Grand Traverse Bay, or relax with a stack of magazines on beaches like Traverse City State Park. With the waterfront in view, check out the exhibits at Grand Traverse Lighthouse, or hike or bike Traverse Area Recreational Trail. During the winter, go snowmobiling on Boardman Valley Trail. If you love to shop, explore unique shops on Front Street in downtown Traverse City or the 100-plus stores in Grand Traverse Mall. If you would rather tee off, get in a game of golf at Mitchell Creek Golf Course. You will find plenty of restaurants near our Traverse City, MI, hotel. Find casual dining at Fire Fly, or try pub food and pints at Mackinaw Brewing Company, both in downtown Traverse City. Get a quick bite of Chinese food at Golden Chopsticks or, if you have a taste for Italian, go to Trattoria Stella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Super Eight Traverse City
Traverse City Super Eight
Traverse City Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.