We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parkshore Resort to your Saves list
Parkshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent hotel at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was staying on business, and didn't really have time to check out the amenities. But for the price, I would stay here again. It is about the same as the other "discount" hotels to the East, but way nicer. Would have liked a continental breakfast in the morning, but I didn't have time for it anyway...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    26
    16
    19
See reviews for
36
68
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights this past weekend for a return visit. We've stayed at the Parkshore several times and enjoy the location and room amenities. This year was no exception. We were able to check in early which we appreciated and the staff were all very pleasant. Its on the beach locale is a real plus for us as we enjoy beaching it on a nice day. There are plenty of chairs available for guests to use and there are several activities right there also.
The downside is the food. It's pretty bad, at least what we had. The spinach artichoke dip was blah and the chips quite stale, the breakfast is downright awful, rubber eggs, cold tough food and disappointing even it was included which it's not. We ordered room service one night and got a hamburger which came with tomato and lettuce, nothing else-and no questions about other toppings. The reuben was barely passable but was mostly saurkraut and not served on the bread described in the menu. After that we opted to eat everything else off site. We would avoid the food in future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding at the ParkShore Resort on June 22, 2013. We could not have been happier with our experience! From the time we met with Fawn to tour the resort, to the time we checked out on Sunday after the wedding, everything was wonderful!! Fawn was very attentive and very helpful. She made sure all the details were taken care of and helped tremendously at the reception! The bartender from the ParkShore, Lacey, was also great at the reception. Each of our guests were extremely pleased with the venue and all the staff. We can't thank them enough for making our day perfect!!! If you're looking for a perfect beachfront wedding, the ParkShore is it!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for my nephew's wedding. They put together a beautiful wedding, but this is not very handicapped accessible; as I learned when my aunt in a wheelchair came.
Our first night, we had dinner at the attached lounge/restaurant. The salads and soup were delicious, but my tablemates had to send their prime rib back three times and it still came back cooked wrong and cold. We had to ask for refills on our drinks and no discount was offered on our meal and the manager was no where in sight. When my mother (who was one of the people at the table) complained to the front desk, there was a "we have a new cook," by way of apology.
Housekeeping made up for the horrible restaurant. They were great! Don't change that staff!
The pool area should be better cleaned and I didn't see anyone checking the pool area for chemicals. My daughter ended up with swimmers ear and is still in a lot of pain.
The beach is wonderful. After the reception, the father of the bride rented out the fire pit. It was great!
I understand this is a mixed review, but we would probably stay there again. I don't think we would ever eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our experience was great and the lunge was alot of fun! However the bartender I believe her name was Lacey (she was blonde) was very rude and unprofessional. She made the servers wait a very long time before making their drinks and ignore other customers if their was a customer that she liked!! Despite that the Parkshore was a beautiful place to vacation and we would come back again

Room Tip: Chris and Chris were great servers!! Very Fun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkShore, General Manager at Parkshore Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologize for the service you received in our Restaurant. We to maintain high levels of excellence of food and service, but we let you down during your stay. I have addressed this with our staff and assure you our high levels of excellence are maintained. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I shouldn't write this and keep it my own little secret... For $126/night after taxes, this place was decent. Older, but clean and quiet. Dinner in the hotel's restaurant was delicious, but pass on the breakfast buffet. We didn't check out the pool, but enjoyed having a mini fridge in our room. Nothing fancy, but good value for the price! Would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I attempt to always stay at the Parkshore when in Traverse City. Great view's of the bay,Nice bar/restaurant on site with great food and service. The Parkshore is great for business or a family vacation. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Bay View Room is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkShore, General Manager at Parkshore Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to write a review. We work very hard at keeping high standards of food and service in our Restaurant. We are very happy that we made your stay a pleasant one. Hope to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkshore Resort

Address: 1401 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Parkshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkshore Hotel Traverse City
Parkshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.