We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parkshore Resort to your Saves list
Parkshore Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Traverse City
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A clean and nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The room is clean and spacious. On the day we arrived at Traverse City, we did not book any room in advance, when we called hotels nearby in Traverse City, most were fully booked or over $100 per night. It was wonderful to find this hotel, paid less than 80 per night as we do not need a Bay view. Staff at front desk is efficient and friendly. Overall, a wonderful stay, highly recommmended.

Room Tip: If you do not need water view, pick an inside/street view room to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkShore, Manager at Parkshore Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and size of your room. We appreciate the feedback regarding the friendliness and efficiency of the staff as well. We hope that you come back and stay with us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    32
    19
    21
See reviews for
50
77
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel location is great and it is right on the beach with most of the rooms having a small balcony or a rather good size patio. This could be a nice place but it is very run down and a tad dirty. We paid $269 per night on the weekend and the table was falling apart, screen door hard to open and shut, and the carpet appeared dirty. They offer only a buffet for breakfast for $6 but it was virtually inedible so we never tried the restaurant again. I believe they served the left over twice baked potatoes from the night before along with what was the worst tasting bacon I have ever tasted. We just got the feeling throughout the entire stay that they just don't care enough to try to make this a nice place. Many better choices in Traverse City

Room Tip: If you like to keep the doorwall open while you sleep the first floor is not for you but we liked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkShore, Manager at Parkshore Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced maintenance and cleanliness issues during your last stay. We do take pride in our property and have a strict schedule of deep cleaning our rooms on a regular basis, removing furniture, steam cleaning carpets, going through maintenance checklists, etc. We assure you that these issues are taken care of immediately upon notification when not prevented by our regular checks. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy our $5.95 hot breakfast buffet. We try to offer options to please everyone, including coffee, juice, waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon, fruit, breads, etc. We will continue to offer other changing items daily and always appreciate the input.

We are glad you were able to enjoy the location and wonderful bay view from your beachfront room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and the hotel has declined in appearance since I stayed there 3 years ago and couldn't wait to return.My first negative experience was upon entering the room to see a tear in the patio screen door.Next I went onto the balcony to find a broken chair which staff did replace quickly after I called.There was no wi-fi and when I asked at the front desk what the problem was I was told their signal is weak and apple products can't get the signal.I also asked about their reservation wizard security certificate stating "not to enter site" to make online reservations and was told not to worry about it that their site is secure.I wouldn't trust it.The carpeting looked like it needed cleaning. The beach is nice but is open to anybody who wants to use it.I don't think a paying customer should lay on a towel on the beach because all of the chairs are taken,some by non paying people using the beach.The hotel does have a smoking area for its restaurant customers with signage stating not to smoke near the entrance door to the hotel.This is not enforced at all.On several occasions I had to walk through smokers to enter the hotel.On a positive note the location and view is great from this hotel,rooms are clean, and the food is good at their restaurant.I would look at other hotels in the immediate area before staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Bayview upper floors are better.First floor has larger balcony/patio but not as private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is amazing & the restaurant has the best food with great prices. The salmon dinner is amazing, you will not be disappointed!!
The hotel is right on the water, so needless to say you get beautiful sunrises & sunsets. The beach is very nice to walk along & they also offer boat rentals & such.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel location is definitely a plus, but does it warrant the rates they charge for the state the hotel is in? WAY OVERPRICED ($229 for a Thursday night stay and $264 for a Friday night stay).

- the minute you walk through the lobby doors there is a distinct smell (not sure if it was the pool?).

- the carpets are FILTHY throughout the hotel as well as in the rooms. The chairs in the rooms were stained and dirty. :( The tub floor and the shower head in our room were DIRTY. One of the bed's had a cigarette burn in the padding that you could feel through the sheet. The curtains leading out to the patio had cigarette burns as well.

- we could not access the wifi, and when inquired about it was asked if we had apple products (which we did). Their response was that people with apple products had difficulty accessing the wifi.

- I agree with one of the reviews that mentioned several private boats in the area. Also, the beach is open to the public...why pay for the hotel if you can access the beach as many did during our stay?

- I was sorely disappointed in the hotel, and the pictures on the website DO NOT reflect the state of the hotel!

I would definitely not stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time this past weekend at a family weekend....the weather was beautiful, the views from the room were fantastic and the buffett breakfast was a GREAT deal 5.95 per person all you can eat. The beach was cleaned everyday, the chairs rearranged and cleaned too. The beach was wonderful. We attended a wedding and reception right on the property....it was elegant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the parkshore resort on August 7 for one night. Nice location, clean rooms, pretty view of Bay and great happy hour specials at the lounge. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the air condition in room was really loud. Enjoyed walking on beach in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 41 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 41 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkshore Resort

Address: 1401 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Parkshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkshore Hotel Traverse City
Parkshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.