We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok in a pinch......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Parkshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parkshore Resort
1401 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“ok in a pinch......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at the Parkshore Resort over the New Years holiday weekend because I was visiting friends in the area. I am very familiar with the Traverse City area, and knew when I booked the resort, that it was on the water, not terribly close to downtown, but close enough for my purposes, and with that in mind, booked the room on a "deal" for 79.00. We were able to check in around 3pm, and found the room acceptably clean, though I noticed the bottom of the shower curtain was dirty...and I am something of a fanatic when it comes to cleanliness in the bathroom. We asked for a Non smoking KING room, and that's what we got...and with a water view...however, during a snowstorm, there is not much of a view! No breakfast was included, though we did get coffee in the morning free. Our room also had a sofa and small balcony. It was quiet enough for a sunday evening, and completely served my purposes for the money. I would not, however, stay here again for a higher price. It wasn't worth more than $80.00.

Room Tip: If you are staying here during the summer or fall, a room with the water view is nice. You will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    19
    14
    17
See reviews for
31
47
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had the basic room. We were put in a handicap accessible room that wreaked of cigarette smoke, to the point where our clothes smelled of cigarette smoke when we walked out of the room. I went downstairs to ask for a nonsmoking room and was told all of the rooms are nonsmoking. Well, this room clearly had been smoked in. They said they were booked and couldnt move us, that we would just have to deal with it. Yuck!
We opened the window, but since the room is on the street side, the busy street kept us up all night.
The one positive of this place was the location. It was close to downtown and right on the beach, which was nice. It was on a very noisy street though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almont mi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Parkshore end of October 2011 and thought it was very nice for $69.00 I liked the decor with its warm earthy tones, room was very clean. Had a balcony with a beautiful view of the bay. king size bed was comfortable, had a small fridge but no microwave. room service was fast and polite.
breakfast buffet was descent for $5.99 , Other hotels like the one next door have a free complimentary breakfast which would of been nice.
I will stay at the parkshore resort again and I do recommend this place after comparing many other hotels iv stayed at on the strip. Its A very nice place to stay for the money, at least in the off season.

Room Tip: I like the 4th floor because I think the top floors are the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ,oh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I was on a business trip in October, and booked this hotel, thinking it was on the beach and would be relaxing to be by the water. But found it to be really teriffic.

The room was as close to perfect as you will see, the breakfast was excellent,and the views were outstanding.

Now I realize this is October, so there was nothing going on beachwise, but it would be a beehive of activity in the summer

Room Tip: beach side is a little bit higher but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This resort is located very centrally and on the beach in Traverse City. There are plenty of water activities to enjoy, and the lake was like GLASS. the resort is not fancy, but it works. Breakfast required payment/vouchers, so I didn't really partake, not a lot of fruit, small bagels, other pastries and cereal available. Biscuits, gravy, sausage, bacon, premade waffels, etc. if you like that for breakfast. The rooms are ok, there are a few different types available. The staff were very nice and responsive to questions. Get a room on the ground floor facing the beach, they have nice, grassy sitting areas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had just stayed at Grand Beach and weren't sure if this would be as nice. But for the money, it did exceed expectations. Very clean, comfy bed, buffet breakfast for $5.99, nice lounge and beach front very clean.

Room Tip: Next time would prefer room on 1st floor rather than 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Parkshore hotel is by no means the Ritz Carlton, but the rooms are updated and very clean. The best part of this hotel is that it is located right on East Bay and theres a nice sandy beach at your footsteps. The hotel offers lounge chairs on the beach, you can buy firewood to have a bonfire at night and there are boat rentals right next door. The perfect location in Traverse City in my opinion! Also, one of the more affordable places in Traverse during peak season!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkshore Resort

Address: 1401 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Parkshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkshore Hotel Traverse City
Parkshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.