We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Monks Taproom

7 Monks Taproom
128 S Union Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
421-8410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 252 restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Beer and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Great food but had some waiter miscommunication. Try the Pinkus Hefeweizen, very good. Their own mac & cheese is fantastic.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    52
    39
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

7 Monks is a great place to try the best Michigan beers. The staff knows their beer and is friendly and attentive. Though I didn't eat there, the food looked and smelled amazing. Fun place to hang out - great atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great tap selection and local eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I didn't expect to fall in love with the bacon-wrapped cheese-stuffed dates here, but they turned out to be my favorite meal in Traverse City! Husband and I tried a few new beer selections; bartenders were very patient in letting everyone try samples.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very expensive for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was one expensive lunch. There were only 8 items on the food menu. We SPLIT the hamburger, had a beer each and the bill was $30.00 with tip. The hamburger was wonderful with caramelized onions and the choice of beer was immense. We ordered the cheapest beers ($6) and the hamburger was $12 and really not that large. The service was great but WOW.....not a place for one on a limited budget. We aren't on a limited budget but not sure we will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great beer, friendly staff, and vegetarian friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had an afternoon beer and snacks here. Bar staf were knowledgable about their extensive beer offerings and ready to make recommendations and let you sample before choosing. Surprisingly good salads and other vegetarian friendly offerings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Monks Taproom also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 7 Monks Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Monks Taproom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.