We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1582 US 31 North, Hwy 31, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad at all for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for one winter night and found it to be clean, comfortable and a good value. We will definitely stay here again in the future. The Red Mesa Grill is just a couple doors down and a great restaurant. The motel is within a short drive or cab ride to town and has several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    13
    12
    18
See reviews for
28
20
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I would like to say, that the midnight staff, who apparently "owns" the hotel, treats people like dirt! If you are up at night, and have to deal with the person who was working on 2/12, then I feel sorry for you. He is RUDE, and won't even give you his name! Other than that, it was a nice hotel, but just UN-HOSPITAL service. If you RUN a hotel, LEARN how to treat people w/respect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Traverse City, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear tcandy10,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay
you had as a result of the service issues you experienced. These conditions are
not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our
Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us
provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay at motel 6 was only for a night in October 2013. My girl friend and I weren't looking to spend much money BUT we wanted to be on the main hotel drag "US 31" and close to downtown. Motel 6!was perfect. They also offer a indoor swimming pool and hot tub which was a huge plus from being outside all day. We got to unwind in a nice heated pool. This hotel is good for people on a budget. I have no complaints about this motel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Unusual for Motel 6, this property has surprisingly comfortable, modern mattresses and thick towels. And if you suffer allergies, the rooms here are perfect: smoke free and clean even though pets are allowed.

I stay here when I am in Traverse City. It is very close to Lake Michigan and restaurants are in walking distance. Be surprised with the quality and price. Give this Motel 6 a try, especially in the off season as the property is solidly booked in the summer months. If you want to stay then be sure to reserve way in advance.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have the newest mattresses at this writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice room for the price. Nothing fancy.....no shampoo or hairdryer, but just the basics. it doesn't feel real homey with no carpet, but I like the idea of the wood floors instead of walking on dirty carpet. Seems there are lots of construction workers staying here during the week. We had a guy pounding on the door next to us to tell his friend to meet him downstairs and it must have been 5 am or some crazy hour like that. Walls are thin of course and you could hear lots of traffic noise too staying in the front of the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We traveled the UP and down part of lower Michigan. Our stay at Motel 6 in TC was the best hotel room on the whole trip. It was very clean. I liked the wood floors instead of the usual dirty carpet that most motels have. No continental breakfast, but the coffee pot was in the lobby, and that was all I needed. The staff was great. They gave us a good recommendation for a place for supper. Thanks Motel 6

Room Tip: Use the back door (south entrance), not the front door, its the closest to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pulled into parking lot & hotel next door looked even cheaper than ours (didn't feel like Traverse City) BUT for $46 a night, it was just what we wanted: inexpensive one night stay in TC. HUGE plus: TART trail to ride into downtown right in back of hotel. Room was large, so wishother would have had a bigger bed in it. Liked no carpet (since carpet in cheaper hotel rooms often shows signs of unpleasant wear), but there were some creaky spots in the artificial wood floor. Good sized bathroom, but no shower light or bathroom fan. Noted dust bunnies in far corner under sink. Others mentioned smell: I saw that it was pet friendly hotel, so requested room that did not have pets, so our room had no odor. Only 2 bath towels & 2 pillows & no shampoo, conditioner
or hair dryer provided. However, I did request 2 more pillows & they gladly complied...I'm sure they would provide something if needed, just not given, which I am all for as I am sure it helps
keep their costs down to be able to provide less expensive rooms. Yes, I have had camping cabins nicer than this room, but I have also payed twice as much for some of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Traverse City

Address: 1582 US 31 North, Hwy 31, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Traverse City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Motel Six Traverse City
Traverse City Motel 6
Traverse City Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.