We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1582 US 31 North, Hwy 31, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Okemos, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We originally wanted to be on the beach right in the heart of TC however, since that added an addition $150 to almost every other hotel we ended up at this Motel 6. Granted, it is beach adjacent and a little off the main drag but it was still very nice. The bed and linens were comfy and clean. I’m also am a little paranoid so I double checked both of the mattresses in the room and the sheets, both of which were clear of bed bugs. The mattresses looked nice and new but, the mattress pad looked a little worn. I think if this hotel could afford a remodel it would be amazing. The rooms were a nice bright color but, the bathroom was a little lacking. It got a little noisy in the hallway during the night but, it settled down quick enough but, the security door near room 106 didn’t seem that secure. The outlet cover underneath the bedside table was missing a cover, I know this would be easy to miss by housekeeping but it seems like a pretty easy and necessary fix. The man working the night shift when we arrived was very nice and knowledgeable about where to eat and what to do, he even helped open my bottle of wine :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    10
    12
    18
See reviews for
25
20
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Grand Traverse Bay at Traverse City, Michigan is Busy and Very Pricey this time of year. Many resort hotels and chains up and down the street. I paid double what I have ever paid for a Motel 6 before and I must say it was worth it because I have never stayed at a Motel 6 where the room was this nice.

The outside of the building and the small lobby were just okay but our room was large, well decorated and clean. The bathroom was brand new. The wi-fi worked well. We did not use the pool.

We would definitely stay there again with a competitive seasonal rate.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and a window that opened. We left the air off and the window open and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I BOOKED my stay on line and paid through Expedia. Check in was a breeze. The room was the best price I could find for a dog friendly room in Traverse City. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of snow white towels and fresh bedding. The air conditioning was fantastic. It was cold in there until we turned it down. There is a nice indoor pool we didn't use. The beds were soft and comfortable and not too noisy for a good night's sleep! The shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water. We would stay here again especially since rooms in the area were going for $150 to 300+ a night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised by the bad reviews. Our room was modern, clean, and bright. The carpet in the hall was new. Since we tend to go towards less expensive hotels , this one was one of the better hotels for the price .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here from Thurs-Mon in the spring of 2013. Very unexpected surprise of a motel. Clean, room was well maintained, close to everything, walking path directly behind the parking lot, friendly staff, vending machines had a fun selection, and the pool was ready for action - kids in it the first night, but empty over the wkend. Plenty of opportunity to get some much needed rest and relaxation. Will stay here again if possible. Price was very low - $185.00 for the entire stay. Lots of positives to say about this place. Thank you Motel 6 T.C. :)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor that's away from other guests - easy in and out - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Never again! Smelly dirty hallways, gross rooms that looked like they hadn't been dusted in 6 months. Stained bed covers, filthy sheets which I would not sleep on. Pool area very unsafe, pool and hot tub filthy. Got no sleep, people in hallways running, stomping and doors slamming. Could hear neighbors children all night. I will pay more somewhere else next time. You will get what you pay for here. Charged my credit card about 5 times what the rate was, scammed. This place ruined my weekend getaway in TC!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here March 9th and 10th, 2013 as a family weekend shopping getaway. For the price, we were very pleased. You can tell it was clean. It was also one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. For $36 off season, with an indoor pool and hot tub to keep the kids entertained, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Traverse City

Address: 1582 US 31 North, Hwy 31, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Traverse City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Motel Six Traverse City
Traverse City Motel 6
Traverse City Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.