We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very clean, great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I wanted to book a property right on the beach so we had a "home base" just steps away. We are 4 - 5 star type of travelers but knowing there isn't that sort of property in Traverse City, based on reviews, this hotel seemed to fit the bill. And it exceeded our expectations. The room was large, clean and quiet. I paid for beach view and it was worth every penny. Every morning while my teenage kids slept, I read the paper, sipped my coffee and took in the beauty that is Lake Michigan. The kids that run the jet skis, paddle boards, etc --- are very friendly and helpful. The beach was cleaned every morning. The breakfast was par - not worth much as an added value - but it did exist. The only drawback and there is no solution - - the 4 days we were there - -- there were also SEVERAL groups of LARGE families. They were friendly and kind - but did tend to "take over" the breakfast area and areas of the beach. But, like I said, the hotel seemed to draw family reunions gatherings - so that's not a bad thing - just sometimes a tad overwhelming. What made our vacation so perfect - was the weather - 80 degrees and happy each and every single day. Can't beat that. My kids and I both agreed we would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: if you can afford it - the beach front views were worth the extra money. Lake Michigan is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annierose-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife stayed in the room while I played golf. We left the room at 1:30 pm and left the card out to have the room made up. Only one towel was left and that was on a wet wash cloth. No trash was emptied and the bed wasn't made. Got less than the response expected from the front desk. I was disappointed as I have stayed here before and like the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here and it was very clean. The beach was really clean and they had great options of jet ski rentals (weather was too cold for us) but they looked like new skis. Good location to downtown and everything else. Definitely will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBialek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Sugar Beach was not my first choice to stay at in Traverse City, but I would absolutely stay there again. It is centrally located, has a nice beach, wonderful breakfast. The price was just right. The décor was beautiful. The only issue was being next to the stairwell and hearing the door slam several times at night. Fortunately that stopped before 11pm. Wonderful staff also.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is by the breakfast center, but pool is next to the lobby. Ground floor rooms with a pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSBWyoming_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great. It's located right on the beach, has great lounge chairs and even offers umbrellas. Other hotels don't all have these things, some only offer chairs for the sand. This matters as the water is cold, so having quality seats helped to enjoy the beach. The front desk was very helpful and the room was well taken cared of. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Quiet, clean and comfortable. This place smells clean. Beach behind the resort is perfect. The room comes with HDTV, DVD players, closets a sink, microwave, granite and it's simply put COZY. The 3rd floor balcony view is superb! Front desk was super helpful and gave me lots of menus and brochures for things to do. Great staff! Oh and the pool is heated and there is a arcade on the first floor for everyone!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great location, right on the beach! Nicely furnished room, good beds and modern bathroom. Soundproofing was good, didn't hear the neighbors! Breakfast was included in the price. Staff very friendly. Swam in the indoor pool, it was great! Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: People with children would enjoy the lower level room with a patio door walkout right to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenrosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#19 of 41 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#4 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 41 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#18 of 41 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing