We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family just returned from a short stay at Sugar Beach Resort. I was given the responsibility of booking six different hotels for a 10 day vacation to Michigan. This was the only hotel I was worried about. I was so surprised! Happily so.......

My family was assigned a room on the first floor. It was newly remolded, clean, and comfortable. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. It's conveniently located to evening activities such as Pirates Cove. We loved going over there for a round of mini golf and rope challenges. We were also able to use it as a base for other day trips such as Sleeping Bear Dines, the Mission Peninsula, and other really cool sites.

The breakfast was fine. It was not a fancy buffet, but it is included with the resort. There were enough choices for everyone in my family and no one complained about the selection. It is a very nice Continental Breakfast.

My children have never been to the Great Lakes, so they were very happy to run on the beach and play in the Lake. We found both to be very clean even though there were a lot of people enjoying the resort that week. It was cooler in the late afternoon, so the indoor pool and hot tub were an added bonus.

I would definitely recommend this resort to other people looking to a good location with clean comfortable rooms. It was a bit expensive - but it is the height of the tourist season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    50
    18
    11
    1
See reviews for
58
51
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked a suite style room for a family weekend. The room was large, but dark and dingy, complete with mould in the bathroom. The solution from the front desk was to bring a lamp, and bleach the bathroom, so that the entire room smelled so foul it could not be occupied for hours. There were dirty sheets on the sofa bed, and pretzels under all the beds. After complaining again about the food from previous guests the front desk assured me this would be cleaned. When we checked out two days later, there was still food under the bed.

For our trouble the front desk gave us a 50$ credit for one night. A nice gesture, but when you are paying over 300$ a night, you should at least be getting a clean room.

We have stayed at this hotel dozens of times before, but after this experience we may be looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont book a suite, the rooms are old and not renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay right on the East Bay of Traverse City. There were plenty of beach chairs; however, it was cold and rainy while we were there, so we were unable to use them. The breakfast buffet was nice and included with our stay. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been coming to Traverse City for at least the last 10 years for my husband's immediately family reunion. For the last 5 years we have always stayed at Sugar Beach where the beach is very sandy like sugar. This year the weather was not cooperating and we were forced to enjoy our rooms and the common area on the second floor and the indoor pool which is very nice and refreshing. The hot tub is always hot, but crowded. The rooms which we always have a bay view room are very comfortable, however the tv needs to be updated to flat screen LED's the picture just didn't seem very clear to me. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. We are already booked for next year! It doesn't have a resturant, but Ruby Tuesday and Hooters are across the street. The DQ is in walking distance too...what's a vacation without a DQ!

Room Tip: We normally go with 8 bay view rooms on the 2nd floor so we are all together and close to the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I travel all over the country and have stayed in hundreds of hotels, this one rates right up there with my worst experiences. We were put in the wrong room twice (I think they mis-booked us. Finally got the type of room we booked, but I think they scraped the bottom of the barrel - room was not what their website showed. Desk staff was rude and more concerned about personal issues.

Manager complained about not getting enough sleep. When we checked out we asked for a late checkout and they said no, because they were completely booked yet the sign said vacancy.

Room was run down with a bowing ceiling from water damage - I have pics. Hotel (definitely NOT a resort) ruined our vac experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Sugar Beach a few times previously, so this is an updated review. We still like it very much, for all the same reasons: the property is exceptionally clean, the employees exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the amenities the hotel advertises are intact. We had no trouble with the Wi-Fi, crowding at the breakfast bar or low supplies during breakfast, and we went at different times during our four morning stay. We did not use the indoor pool. The in-room televisions are absolutely adequate for morning news updates and kids' DVDs (perhaps) later on in the evening. They are good-sized and work well. They are not flat-screened or of the plasma type - if you prefer those, well this this property is not for you. (Your home is!) I noticed new pillows on the bed - that's a nice switch from the flat ones from previous stays. I also noticed the outside fresh towel bins had fresh towels all day; sometimes, the towels would be all gone by midday, and you had to wait a short time for new ones. Speaking of towels, the ones in the room are new, white and fluffy - important if your skin is a bit sunburned after a few hours on the beach! There is hot, fresh coffee all day in the lobby area, and it's very good. There are plenty of beach chaises and chairs, and a few umbrellas; bring your own umbrellas for added comfort. This property draws a good crowd - lots of families with young children, and multi-family groups who like the bottom water view rooms with the patios so they can visit easily from patio to patio. That's a nice option if you need it. The inroom fridge is larger than most hotel fridges, and is very, very cold! There is a microwave and coffee machine as well in the little pantry area that includes a few cupboards and an extra sink. The armoire that houses the much-aligned TV is full of storage space. We were extremely comfortable in this hotel for four days for all of the above reasons, and we will come back again. If you have a young family, this beach is excellent because the water is so shallow for such a long way out. The sand is safe, and there are relatively few shells once you get into the water. The rooms are large to accommodate all your little kid equipment. Overall, this is a great property if you're vacationing in TC. Have fun!

Room Tip: If you are smoking averse, know that cigarette smoke will float upward from the water-view patio roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've stayed at the Sugar Beach before, the last time was several years ago. Not much has changed! The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, the beach was spectacular, and staff was friendly. The hallway and elevator had an unpleasant odor, probably due to all the wet feet from the beach! Our only complaint was the ancient TV! Big, old Sylvania with a 27 inch screen. We know people come here for the beach, but after a busy day experiencing all Traverse City has to offer, we like to watch some TV before bed. We hope they update the TVs very soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Traverse City
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.