We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“state competitions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Bay City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“state competitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed there for the first time and we loved it! The rooms were clean, not overly warm as you could control the temp of your room and it actually worked!!!! The staff was kind and check in was fast. Great maned breakfast buffet with room. We will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: While there there was a power outage. We were only on second floor so was easy to take stairs next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    25
    12
    2
See reviews for
68
64
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Every time I come to the area (can be up to 3-4 x's/mos) I stay at your hotel. I have never had a bad experience and enjoy the location so much!. I have to travel anywhere from 1-2 hours north and south of the location for work purposes and, no matter the time I get back, (can be near midnight at times) I have always encountered friendly and helpful staff. All the ameneties have been very clean in my experiences. Thanks also for bringing back waffles!!

Good job to the staff at Sugar Beach!! I will continue to refer friends, family, and coworkers to also stay at your hotel

Room Tip: Have stayed in courtside and beach front. All have been very positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am so happy I chose the Sugar Beach Resort!! I am always looking for new places to visit and experience and this was by far one of the best! The rooms were amazingly clean and I consider myself a huge skeptic. The view was gorgeous, I stayed in a room that overlooked East Bay. The staff members were all great! From the gentleman who checked me in, the gal who attended the wonderful breakfast bar, the room attendant to the incredibly sweet gal who checked me out. They have the best staff!!! I will be back!

Room Tip: Call to make your reservation, they are so helpful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here with our children (11 and 17) on the beach view side of the resort. It was a fabulous view day and night, the swimming was great for the kids, and my husband and I curled up in a cabana and still had a good view on the kids. That evening a group got a volley ball game going on the beach and we watched (and were invited to join) from our balcony. We have visited the Traverse City area multiple times a year and it is always a pleasure. My pet peeve is rudeness and you won't find it here!

Room Tip: Of course beach view is the way to go- the sunsets are breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived in town @ 6am after a very long day of traveling all the way from Florida. The hotel staff was nice enough to let us check in as the room wasnt occupied at the time so that we could catch up on our sleep before our day of adventure. The room was extremely clean just as it always is. This time though we got a bay view room (room 130) It was amazing!!! Woke up one morning to snow falling on the Bay. Pool and Jacuzzi were awesome and we loved that there are no kids after 10 pm allowed in those areas. Beds were amazingly comfortable and I just cant say enough good things about this hotel and their staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I booked into the Sugar Beach hotel for a brief stay in Traverse City. It is a beautiful place with views onto the beach for those lucky enough to book beach side rooms. The rooms are clean and spacious and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: book a beach view room. Ground floor rooms open up onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Sugar Beach Resort twice and the Grand Beach resort once...the beach is one of the best in the area, large, smooth with no grasses .... there are plenty of loungers and the water is very calm - you can walk for what seems like forever and be only knee deep...the Resort is clean, the location is wonderful and the service is good, especially the front desk who were friendly and knowledgeable...staff is great at keeping the beach clean and rake it every morning and replenish the towel lockers consistently...We preferred the rooms with a sofa as opposed to a jacuzzi as they are a little older in model and appearance...the views facing the beach were beautiful and I would really recommend getting a room that does not face the parking area, it is definitely worth the extra cost..we initially stayed on the bottom floor but realized that there isn't a lot of privacy for these rooms as there is no sheer curtain only solid so we moved up to the top floor - these bottom floor rooms are great for families that need to access their rooms frequently from the beach....breakfast buffet is pretty basic with no on site restaurants for dinner...highly recommend Amical and North Peak Brewing Company for dinner,...the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive is absolutely gorgeous and definitely not to be missed...we also enjoyed the dune climb nearby.... leelanau states park has a hiking trail that looks like a scene out of the movie Twilight which opens up into a white sand beach with beautiful water that is secluded and breathtaking...wouldn't stay anywhere else in Traverse City!

Room Tip: choose a room facing the beach on the upper level if not travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.