We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great one night stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We made a last minute decision to stop in Traverse City. We walked in on Monday evening and got a very reasonable rate. The girl at the front desk was very helpful, friendly, and gave us great restaurant and winery tips for the Old Mission Peninsula. The room was very clean, with a separate bar sink, microwave, and larger than normal refrigerator. We used the pool and hot tub which were very clean also. The beds were comfy, standard beds. We realized we didn't have any washcloths so we called down and they were delivered quickly. I know we were there during "off" season (actually just this week) but I wouldn't hesitate to go back during peak season. The breakfast room offers great views of the bay and is bigger than many breakfast rooms. The only thing "new" to add to other reviews is that after driving an hour towards home, we realized we forgot our pillows. We called the hotel, they shipped them very willingly, and they arrived today, only 3 days after leaving Traverse City! We were grateful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    53
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
62
52
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We rented a condo from Sugar Beach for four days while doing a "winery tour" in northern Michigan. The condos are in the building right next to the hotel. What a beautiful place! Three bedrooms each with a bathroom, gorgeous kitchen with granite countertops and large open floor plan with windows overlooking Lake Michigan. Just wonderful! We had the use of the hot tub and pool in the main hotel building, and took advantage of it one night. I would stay at Sugar Beach again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stay here almost every time we come to TC in the summer. Its on a great stretch of beach with plenty of watersports. This year we had pretty bad weather, barely 70 degrees each day, but still enjoyed our stay. The indoor pool is nice, the room was great and the breakfast was decent. We stay in a beachfront, first floor room - much more expensive than the other rooms but very worth it when you have small kids. They can play in the sand and beach while you sit on your deck and relax. We really enjoyed it and will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end seem a little more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Whenever we're in Traverse City, we enjoy staying at the Sugar Beach. The staff is amazing and very helpful. The rooms we've stayed in are fairly large and have a fridge and a microwave as well as a DVD player and in-room coffee. There is also coffee and tea available in the main lobby 24/7. We like getting a ground floor beach view room so that we can walk out to the beach. Lounge chairs are provided on the beach, and towels are available there as well. A continental breakfast is provided in a "breeze way" which has a nice view of the beach. There's a swimming pool and hot tub. Parking is free. The hotel is a few miles from downtown, but there are several restaurants within walking distance. All of our experiences at this hotel have been excellent!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Traverse City has a row of resorts 3-4 miles outside of town, on the beach. I picked this hotel because I had stayed there before. All of the hotels along Munson Ave. are $200+ and not anything special. On the pro side, this hotel had large rooms, a nice view from the breakfast lounge and a nice beach. The rooms had a large frig and microwave, and a DVD player which was great for us. Across the street is the Trail which you can run on all the way into town and that was great.

On the con side, we had to fight at the front desk to not get a room on the first floor facing the parking lot so the headlights come in the room. And the rooms on the first floor smelled like smoking rooms. Yuck. We fought and got a room on the second floor. The breakfast buffet is continental, nothing special. And the way it's set up creates a huge backup for folks to get to the food especially on the weekend when it's busy. They should break up the food into separate stations for better flow. It's about four miles into town so not convenient if you want to walk into town.

Next time we are in Traverse City we will look for some more affordable options. We discovered The Village about two miles south of TC that offers rooms to rent. It's a pretty cool complex that is rapidly developing that we discovered on our way out of town. Will check it out the next time we travel there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our stay was at the end of August. I am posting this review both under Grand Beach and Sugar Beach. Why? Because the rooms are the same in both properties, or at least that is what I am told. Both properties are listed individually and reservations can be made at either. They are "sister" properties under the same Web site. We booked a "courtyard, king, spa" room at the Our stay was at the end of August. I am posting this review both under Grand Beach and Sugar Beach. Why? Because the rooms are the same in both properties, or at least that is what I am told. Both properties are listed individually and reservations can be made at either. They are "sister" properties under the same Web site. We booked a "courtyard, king, spa" room at the Grand Beach through AAA. We arrived at the Grand Beach and found that our room was switched to the Sugar Beach. The desk clerk said that this is done when a room isn't available. We were not happy, but accepted the change. If we weren't tired, then maybe we would have thought to call AAA about this at check-in. We didn't and stayed at the Sugar Beach.

Following the trip, I contacted AAA and Grand Beach about this. AAA said that we should have called them before or during our stay and WAS NOT INTERESTED in investigating any further. Grand Beach management, on the other hand, was VERY RESPONSIVE to my inquiry and told me that the last room of the kind I reserved became unavailable at the same time as the AAA booking I thought I made was being made, It happens. Maybe the Grand Beach can do something with their reservations system so that this does not happen, and if it does, that affected customers be notified. According to management, the rooms are the same in one property as the other. There is no way to truly know this without actually staying at both properties. Also, I would suspect that there would be minor differences in the pool areas, breakfast area, etc. In any case, I was satisfied with the management response. Thanks, Justin.

Since both properties are "the same," then any review of the properties will apply to both - right?

Be wary of the descriptions that mention private balconies and courtyards. The balconies are only on the beach side. The courtyards are not courtyards, but parking lot views. Why not just say it -- parking lot view. See how easy that is! Instead, management uses a bit of puffery to make a parking lot sound attractive.

Speaking of puffery -- high speed WiFi. I was lucky to get connected and had the connection drop quite frequently. When connected, it wsa rarely faster than painfully slow. The Grand Beach/Sugar Beach needs to upgrade their WiFi service. For all practical purposes, we really had unusable WiFi.

The location is good and the staff is friendly and mostly helpful. The only real issue we had was with the toilet paper holder -- left side was loose and the bar fell off. We left a note for this to be fixed and it was, sort of. The next day the other side fell off. We didn't leave a note and it was not fixed. We do think housekeeping should have reported the broken fixture to maintenance. We also wonder on how thorough the cleaning of the bathroom was that second morning since there was garbage in the garbage can and the toilet paper was on the floor in the EXACT position we left it. Housekeeping also did not leave any washcloths. We called the front desk about the washcloths and TP fixture. The TP fixture was fixed promptly and fixed completely this second time around. Housekeeping again failed to bring washcloths the following day, but this time we caught up with the person and the woman said she did not have any left on her cart. A bit later, she came back with the washcloths. Maybe housekeeping needs to make sure they have enough product on their carts!

The beds were reasonably comfortable except I felt as if I was sliding off, towards the foot of the bed. My wife did not seem to have that problem. The pillows were nice, big, almost too bulky.

Continental breakfasts are okay, but very basic. One nice thing they have is an automatic pancake maker. Nice. Waffle makers would have been nice too. There is a Bob Evans within easy walking distance if you want a full breakfast.

Parking was tight and adequate, but some customers do NOT know how to park, or think they rate 2 spots. If parking wasn't tight, this might not have been as noticeable.

We didn't get a chance to use the beach, but it looked nice and was clean. the only thing I noticed that might be a problem is the availability of beach chairs. Many seemed to have been "claimed," but no one was anywhere near those chairs. Also, since we do not like to get fried in the sun, we would not be out on the beach for long without umbrellas above the chairs.

Overall, a pleasant stay. If in the area again, we would consider staying at the Grand Beach/Sugar Beach property.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Overall, this was a great place to stay. All the staff we encountered were very helpful & friendly. We stayed in a king size courtyard room beginning on Labor Day. It seemed like an ideal time to go because the rates were lower & we seemed to have the area to ourselves. I thought the shower was really nice & large & we also had a large jacuzzi tub in our room. Not a fan of the sink outside the bathroom, but it was OK. The room was clean. They kept it pretty cold, but it was easily adjustable. The coffee maker in our room didn't work right, but it didn't matter because they have free coffee/tea 24hrs/day in the lobby. They also kept large bowls of oranges, apples & bananas in the breakfast area at all times, which I thought was nice. The bed was just Ok & my husband & I thought the pillows were a bit hard. As far as noise goes, you've got your usual suspects of other hotel guests, the fridge & ac unit. Even though we were on the street side we weren't bothered by street noise. The breakfast was adequate with a variety of foods to get you started on your day. If you don't like what they have, just bring your own because the rooms have a fridge, microwave & coffe maker.

The water on the beach is crystal clear! We brought our own kayaks & were just amazed how far out we could go & still see the bottom.

Room Tip: If you're budget minded, the courtyard side is fine. Not a water view, but no road noise & y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.