We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2326 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49684-4548   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
1SaltyDogg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“God awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you think you're getting a deal after finding a good rate here, think again. Couldn't pay me to go through this experience again. You smell like an ash tray after 5 minutes in the room (cigarette burns on the tub...really?), dank, and the lady at the desk was not polite, helpful, friendly, or pretty.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    117
    132
    90
    53
See reviews for
197
129
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I'll keep it brief. The hotel was not in a beautiful part of town but we knew that going in. That's not to say its in a bad part of town. Just a business area.

Anyway, the rooms were fine. Beds comfortable and bathroom clean. In fact, the bed was extremely comfortable. And that's the main reason we were there. We just wanted a bed and a decent breakfast.

And that's where we hit our trouble. Breakfast (complimentary) was to be available until 10am. We arrived downstairs shortly after 9:30. We'd been traveling and decided to sleep in. Anyway, there was virtually nothing left. Just cereal and a couple of random muffins. Everything else was gone. And they must have just gotten a shipment of stuff in because we had to trip over boxes to get our breakfast. There was a man working in the area but he was making no efforts to restock any of the food and when we asked about orange juice he said they were out and that they just got cranberry juice delivered by mistake.

Okay. I'm done harping on the lack of breakfast. Just know to get down to breakfast plenty early. Otherwise, a comfortable stay.

(We did not check out the pool, etc.)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

such comfortable beds! best sleep I have had in a very long time! Front desk staff knew directions to every place in Northern Michigan. Very helpfull!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed at the hotel two nights. Although the hotel was booked to capacity, it was quiet and I got a good nights sleep. The room was kept clean with towels replaced daily. TV worked well with many channels to choose from. The included hot continental breakfast was good but see my negatives below. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Water water was never a problem.

The bathroom sink and mirror are at the entrance to the room and separate from the tub & toilet.

Because the hotel was full, we had a few minor problems: At times, a convenient parking spot was hard to find. It was also hard to get a table for the included continental breakfast. Due the crowd at breakfast, it took a while to get even a coffee and bagel.

  • Liked — cleanliness and quiet
  • Disliked — crowds parking lot and breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwestern Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

The hotel was conveniently located right off the main drag from the south but surrounded by peaceful trees and open space-- very nice. We came in from the east, called the desk, and received excellent directions through town. The girl at the desk also gave us an easy-to-follow map to Elk Rapids as my daughter was running late for a wedding rehearsal — and the lost and found saved us when she dropped her scarf on the way out and didn't realize it until the next morning.
The pool looked lovely but opened too late in the morning (9 a.m.) to do me any good; if there really was a fitness room, I never found it; the ice machine on the first floor was broken, and there was no change machine so I had to wait behind a bunch of folks checking in to get change for the vending machines.
Where other motels have gone to make-your-own waffles, this one offered cold cereal and frozen waffles and french toast, and I think there was only one toaster. But the juice was great as were the hard boiled eggs. Real half-and-half for the coffee would have been good.
The room was fine (I, too, had a burn on the tub and I was in a non-smoking room!).
My biggest mistake, though, was not booking directly through the hotel's site. I got locked into what I later learned was a much-too-high rate plus I couldn't switch from a single king to two queens, at a lower rate or even the same rate, because I had gone through that hotelrates.com or whatever. So I felt pretty much stiffed. But it wasn't the motel's fault, and the staff people were so friendly and helpful it offset everything else in the end.

  • Liked — Easy access, easy to find and get in and out of.
  • Disliked — No fitness room, less than wonderful breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebewaing, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

We stayed in a family suite for a weekend in April. The family suite is basically adjoining rooms with one entry. Even though the hotel was nearly full to capacity, we didn't hear anyone. The pool is very nice, with adult hours from 10 pm until midnight. Free breakfast was a wonderful amenity. The desk staff was extremely helpful. The hotel is located at the far south end of highway 31, out by the mall and lots of chain shopping. For the feel of Traverse City, you need to go downtown, which is really only about 10 minutes away. It was a good 20 minutes to Turtle Creek Casino by the back roads around the airport. We couldn't beat the rate on this hotel, and it was very important that we (5 sisters) had 2 bathrooms. We had free high speed internet, and the rooms were clean. There is no real view, but I did watch the sunrise from the parking lot one morning.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2004

Spent 1 night at the Baymont Inn in Traverse City on our way home from our vacation to the Michigan UP. The hotel was OK....nothing remarkable. The room was clean, although there were cigarette burns on the tub. I didn't realize that I had booked a smoking room (I think because that's all that was left). But even for being a smoking room; the smell was not bad. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the OUTSKIRTS of town...which was helpful on our journey the next morning as it was on the right side of Traverse City for us to leave in the morning. They offered breakfast, which we did not try, as we were anxious to return home.

The location is convenient, but not anywhere near the water or the downtown area.

The price was right; the room was clean, and the hotel staff was friendly, it made it an acceptable overnight stop on our vacation journey.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Address: 2326 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49684-4548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Baymont Inn And Suites Traverse City
Baymont Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.