We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not by the water, but a great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not by the water, but a great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a wedding group and booked 10 rooms. The bride and groom's suite had a card signed by the entire staff placed in their room - nice surprise. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful in getting us all accommodated. The common areas were nice for congregating, and the pool area was nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
33
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadillac, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one night over the Labor Day weekend. When I called to reserve the room, I was offered two room types. Luck would have it that I chose the room with a barely working hot tub. Had I known at the time of making the reservation that the hot tub would take hours to fill, I would have reserved the other room. The cost of the room was outrageous, especialy so, since the hot tub didn't work properly. Oh, they were kind enough to deduct a whopping $20.00 from our bill and gave us four breakfast vouchers. Nice gesture but I still feel somewhat, "ripped off". I guess they had us by the collar since it was a holiday weekend. The hot tub was a nice temperature. The pool very cold. The breakfast was very nice as well as the seating area. Definitely not worth the premium. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: If you request a hot tub room, make sure that its in working order before settling in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello and thanks for your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were not totally satisfied as most of our guests are. I aplogize for the in-room spa tub issue that has been corrected. You are right about area hotel rooms being on the high side of price in Traverse City during the summer season. I will be taking an additional $50.00 off your past stay and you should see that credit later next week. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast bistro. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to be your preferred hotel in Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'll preface by saying I'm very fond of Marriott hotels. But it wasn't the name that made me stay here, it was availability. Traverse City is a very popular destination in the summer, and this weekend the Microbrew and Music Festival was going on. Because of this, local hotels were booked up and rates were jacked up. I booked this hotel in a pinch the night prior to my stay. I wasn't thrilled with the location, but it was only about 11 minutes away from the downtown area. Overall, the hotel lived up to Marriott's name, with the exception of maybe the room size (really small!) I stayed in a King Bed Room.

Pros: very nice, typical Marriott hotel. Nice, clean lobby with interactive touchscreen display TV for finding local happenings, restaurants, etc. Front desk staff was very nice!

Cons: $276/night rate. I suppose this isn't the hotel's fault, though - the city and events likely caused the steep prices. The room was small, with the TV facing the side of the bed. Ideally, it'd have been nice to be closer to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello and thanks for your recent stay and your kind words. I am glad you had a good stay. The great thing about Traverse City is that something is always going on. You are correct rates at all area hotels go up this time of year. If you like Microbrews, TC has a winter Microbrew & Music Festival in early February and Suds & Snow is a fun event in March. I hope you can join us again soon.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great value. A clean hotel with basic services for the business traveler and also up to the standards of other Courtyard Marriott Hotels. Rooms are large and clean. Beds are comfortable and internet service works well. Near a shopping mall and walking distance to restaurants, although a bit of a distance from the lakeshore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with great lobby and excellent rooms. Staff is very friendly. Guest laundry came in handy after two weeks on the road. Location is a bit off the beaten track but it is indeed quieter over in this part of Traverse City. Overall, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

While traveling in northern Michigan we stayed at this Courtyard. Our room was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean with fresh towels. The hotel is not close to any restaurants within walking distance except for a Mexican restaurant. The front desk suggested the restaurant at the golf course which was seval miles away. It turned out to be vey good. The hotel was quiet and one of the better Courtyard hotels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for the first time. They have updated some parts of the room like the linens and a flat screen tv. The bathroom and vanity are very old and need some TLC for sure. I am not sure I would stay again....we just needed a place to sleep only so it was fine. The staff was very nice. The breakfast left some room for improvement....not much to offer.....they did have some fruit, cereral and coffee etc....but it was very basic. Our room was very quiet and we slept well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Address: 3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City features 83 very clean rooms including suites and king and queen bed accommodations. Travelers can enjoy free Wi-Fi, an on-site Bistro restaurant featuring healthy breakfast items and seasonal dinner options. Starbucks coffee is served 24 hours a day and drink specials are featured each evening. Enjoy the outdoor courtyard with fireplace, indoor pool and spa and the business center with computer and printer. Located five miles from downtown Traverse City and the Grand Traverse Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
Traverse City Marriott
Traverse City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.