We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average hotel, but for the money, could have been better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“Above average hotel, but for the money, could have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I'll preface by saying I'm very fond of Marriott hotels. But it wasn't the name that made me stay here, it was availability. Traverse City is a very popular destination in the summer, and this weekend the Microbrew and Music Festival was going on. Because of this, local hotels were booked up and rates were jacked up. I booked this hotel in a pinch the night prior to my stay. I wasn't thrilled with the location, but it was only about 11 minutes away from the downtown area. Overall, the hotel lived up to Marriott's name, with the exception of maybe the room size (really small!) I stayed in a King Bed Room.

Pros: very nice, typical Marriott hotel. Nice, clean lobby with interactive touchscreen display TV for finding local happenings, restaurants, etc. Front desk staff was very nice!

Cons: $276/night rate. I suppose this isn't the hotel's fault, though - the city and events likely caused the steep prices. The room was small, with the TV facing the side of the bed. Ideally, it'd have been nice to be closer to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello and thanks for your recent stay and your kind words. I am glad you had a good stay. The great thing about Traverse City is that something is always going on. You are correct rates at all area hotels go up this time of year. If you like Microbrews, TC has a winter Microbrew & Music Festival in early February and Suds & Snow is a fun event in March. I hope you can join us again soon.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
29
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great value. A clean hotel with basic services for the business traveler and also up to the standards of other Courtyard Marriott Hotels. Rooms are large and clean. Beds are comfortable and internet service works well. Near a shopping mall and walking distance to restaurants, although a bit of a distance from the lakeshore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nice hotel with great lobby and excellent rooms. Staff is very friendly. Guest laundry came in handy after two weeks on the road. Location is a bit off the beaten track but it is indeed quieter over in this part of Traverse City. Overall, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

While traveling in northern Michigan we stayed at this Courtyard. Our room was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean with fresh towels. The hotel is not close to any restaurants within walking distance except for a Mexican restaurant. The front desk suggested the restaurant at the golf course which was seval miles away. It turned out to be vey good. The hotel was quiet and one of the better Courtyard hotels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for the first time. They have updated some parts of the room like the linens and a flat screen tv. The bathroom and vanity are very old and need some TLC for sure. I am not sure I would stay again....we just needed a place to sleep only so it was fine. The staff was very nice. The breakfast left some room for improvement....not much to offer.....they did have some fruit, cereral and coffee etc....but it was very basic. Our room was very quiet and we slept well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time staying in a Marriott. First time to Traverse City. A wondeful hotel in a most wonderful town. Great location and a great lobby! The housekeeping staff were awesome!!! So nice and so friendly!!! They rock!!! Plus the rooms were so clean!!! The front desk staff were nice... they didn't smile too much tho... and they didn't ask me if I stayed at other Marriotts prior to this one... just cause I didn't belong to the Marriott reward program... (they didn't ask me if I wanted to join either) and it would have been nice of them if they had made mention that the jets in the jacuzzi can be activated once you sit down in it. Plus there was a fridge in the room which was awesome! However, I didn't realize that 'til I was already 'bout to leave.. so yeahhh. Plus the directions that were given from the front desk staff to the elevator and room were so monotone and rehearsed and so fast. It was like boom and I was like huh? ... Anyways I have been immersed in the hospitality industry for 9 years now and these comments are just made to make your Marriott that much better. That's all.
- Definately one of the best housekeeping staff I have encountered thus far!!! Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, staff greeted me every time was seen by them, and the general manager was great when we had some extenuating circumstances. Definitely will be back. Location is great, within reach of shops, eating places, and all the tourist-type shops. Ate breakfast once at the hotel, no complaints. Sitting area outside of the hotel in the rear is perfect for a few quiet moments too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Address: 3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
Traverse City Marriott
Traverse City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.