We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my regular TC place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“my regular TC place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

this place is my "go to" hotel when i'm in traverse city.
typically i have no complaints.
this time (april 2 stay), the shampoo, conditioner and lotion samples in my room were all pre-used and only partially full. have never had that happen before at a marriott property - not sure if they are trying to cut costs or what, but i don't ask for a lot... but i do expect new samples.
i'll return and generally would recommend it. it's comfortable and spacious and seemed very well-staffed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello and thanks for staying with us again. I am very sorry about your pre-used amenities. We are certainly not trying to reduce cost by sharing amenities and it certainly was not intentional. Marriott recently changed amenities to the the Paul Mitchell brand. It is a good product but the bottles are not see through as most amenities bottles are. In addition the packaging does not have a seal or any indication showing if a bottle is new or used. Many of our guest bring their own shampoo and conditioners and do not use the products provided. The only way to determine if a product is used is by feel and when a housekeeper has a product weighing less then 1 ounce it is really hard to tell. I have a new bottle of conditioner on my desk right now and it feels half empty to me.

It is our policy to discard all three bottles of amenities after every room checks out. This perhaps did not happen on your last stay. We at the hotel are not happy that we need to do this due to the tremendous waste in product, cost and the impact on the environment. Unfortunately until we can convince Marriott and Paul Mitchell to change the packaging we will continue to discard. I will be contacting a local shelter this week to see if they would like these bottles. I again want to express my apology and hope to see you again soon. Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
33
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a Platinum Level Marriott member, I have to say, this is one of the best operated Marriott branded hotels I have ever stayed in.

I stayed here on business and upon check-in, the staff was very friendly, not just in the cordial meeting-a-guest type of greeting, but they seemed genuinely friendly and accommodating. This is very refreshing when one travels a lot and to have a friendly smiling person greeting you after a long day is worth the stay.

The "living room" area is very comfortable and has a nice warm homey feeling. The business area is great! You can grab a snack and watch the evening news on your own personal TV while catching up on e-mails.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

The Marriott Spirit To Serve was very evident with the morning manager... I am from the South and not used to snow. When I went out to my car the next morning, 8" of snow had fallen the night before. The manager was outside at 6:30am sweeping snow from vehicles. He saw the amused look on face about the snow that had fallen and came over and brushed all the snow off my car without asking! All I can say is WOW! Where else will you find a manager willing to do that??

Great experience at the Courtyard for a weary traveler!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. I am glad you found your accomodations clean and comfortable. I am very proud of our staff. I hire for attitude instead of experience. I can teach people how to use the computer or clean a room but I can not teach people how to be outgoing and caring. That is why his hotel is always one of the top Courtyards in the area of guest satisfaction. Now that we are in mid March we only have another 4-6 weeks of snow. I love the stuff ( in January) but I have had enough, come on spring! We hope to see you again soon. Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and it has gotten better. Very friendly staff, clean, quiet and affordable. New remodel has mad it even better. In T C you have to be aware that prices go up with the many and various events also you had better plan ahead for available rooms.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I enjoy this hotel, they have remodeled in the past few years and it's very posh feeling without having to pay for fancy. It's over by the mall and has plenty of places to eat close by. It's not close to downtown, so if you're hoping to walk the main street, shop and see the lake, you'll have to drive. The rooms are clean, spacious, tastefully decorated, and have free WiFi. The front desk staff have always been friendly, even when I've been a late night arrival.

The only downside for me, is that they don't have a free breakfast anymore. There is a Bistro where you can purchase hot breakfast items and other quick food. It's a little expensive. I think I paid $5 for oatmeal with fruit toppings. There is free coffee and tea around the corner from the cafe if you just want a quick cup of something hot. With that said, I will stay here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel was very nice and modern! It looks like it has recently been updated and the rooms were very nice! Love that it had a Starbucks in the hotel. It was also close to many attractions and not to far away at all from downtown Traverse City. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello and thanks for staying with us. I am glad you liked our hotel. The Starbucks in the lobby is a nice feature. We have many local people stopping in the morning just to get a quick cup to go. We hope to see you again soon.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got back from Traverse City and stayed over a nite at the Courtyard by Marriot. We were very pleased with our choice. The room was clean and spacious with a balcony. Actually noticed the artwork in the room this time. We didn't use either but I believe there was a fridge and a safe included.

The hotel has a small workout area and a pool. My only criticism was the moldings in the pool area could use a touch up but other than that it was clean. Outside the pool area there was a small courtyard but being November we did not utilize this area. The lobby was decorated with contempary furnishings and also included a small store that also sold beer and local wines. I am not a big fan of the area wines and couldn't even finish my glass of red that we had purchased. The lobby shares its seating with the Bistro Restaurant at the other end. The Bistro menu was impressive as it had many healthy alternatives and served fresh fruit, a nice touch. It also serves Starbucks coffee and teas.

The location of this hotel is perfect for shopping as it is just across the street from Best Buy and Kohl's and the Grand Traverse Mall are close by. Just keep in mind, Traverse City is not the best place for street and direction signs, so bring a map to get your bearings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. You are right we are in a prime location for shopping. We are very busy for back to school and holiday shopping. We had lots of fun with our Black Friday Shoppers last night and today. People coming and going all night, bags in hand. The Starbuck coffee machine was working overtime. We hope to see you again soon.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very well managed property that is just outside of town, but an easy drive to all Traverse City has to offer. They did allow early check in even during a very busy event. The restaurant offers a diverse menu and cocktails, plus good breakfast options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you are so pleased. We hope to welcome you again soon. Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Address: 3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
Traverse City Marriott
Traverse City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.